Tomato Marmalade

 Tomato spoon sweet are whole candied tomatoes in sugar syrup and are a very traditional treat on the Greek island of Kos.  Taking it a step further – tomato jam, or marmalade as it is known, is also a local favourite and as strange as it may sound, it is a fantastic accompaniment to Greek yogurt.  So much so, that is has replaced our usual Greek honey with walnuts as our favourite topping.

Last trip to Greece we savoured and rationed the jar we brought home until, alas it was gone. So I took to the internet to try and find recipes to make it. After experimenting, including one failure along the way, I think I’ve come up with a pretty good rendition.

The marmalade is also excellent on toast, rusks etc. Try it topped with a little ricotta or my new favourite cheese – fresh Manouri (which is creamy and like a slightly salted firm ricotta).

A couple of points to consider … Firstly I prefer to use Roma tomatoes and secondly this must be made  when tomatoes are at their peak and most flavoursome. 

Don’t be tempted to grate the lemon rind, it tastes better when you have little tangible pieces as they candy and add a great flavour. Use a veggie peeler to take off thin slices of rind and then finely chop.

INGREDIENTS

1 kg Roma tomatoes 

500g castor sugar

Rind of one lemon cut into tiny dice (see above)

1 vanilla bean chopped in half (or 1 tsp vanilla paste) 

METHOD

1. Remove the skin from all the tomatoes. Do this by making a cross incision (with a knife) to tips of the tomatoes and pour over boiling water, leaving submerged for 20-30 seconds. Remove tomatoes from water and peel, the skin should slide off easily.

2. Cut tomatoes in half and squeeze to remove the seeds from 3/4 of the tomatoes and discard seeds. Leave the other quarter intact. Chop roughly all the tomatoes into 1.5 cm pieces. I prefer a chunky marmelade. For a more smoother consistiency cut them smaller (to 1 cm).

3. Place the tomatoes and the juice into a glass or ceramic dish. Pour over the sugar, add vanilla bean or paste) and stir well. Leave to mascerate for about 3-4 hours, stirring occasionally.

  

4. Place the tomato mix in a saucepan and add the chopped lemon rind. Bring to boil and simmer gently for around an hour. 

5. Meanwhile sterilise your jars which ever method you prefer. I do mine in the dishwasher. Also put some small saucers in the freezer to use to test the jam for readiness later.

6. At 45mins – test the marmalade . Take a saucer from the freezer and place a teaspoon of mixture in the centre.  After a thirty seconds run your finger through to see if it has thickened. Check again every 5mins until you can see the consistency has jellied and thickened – but is not solid.  Remove from heat.

  

7. Leave to cool slightly for around 15mins, then carefully spoon into jars.  Leave to cool completely in the jars before placing the lids on and sealing well. Will keep in the fridge for a year but trust me it won’t last long!

N.B. Don’t worry if it still looks like a lot of liquid when you test it … it will firm up when it cools.  The first time I made this, big rookie error … I removed some of the liquid and ended up with jars of sticky toffee! Which while tasted delicious but it nearly bent all our spoons trying to remove the stuff from the jar!!!

Makes around 500-600mls 

About Soul Kitchen Blog

Welcome to Soul Kitchen Blog. Sure food ultimately is fuel for the body but made with love is so much more and truly nourishes the soul. As cliche as it sounds, life really is too short to eat bad food and drink bad wine. I have a passion for cooking and a love of good food. I am committed to my quest of searching for fabulous recipes that just so happen to be gluten free. In recent years I discovered that I have intolerance to gluten and whilst its changed my eating habits somewhat, I refuse to allow it to limit my choices to eat well or make those that I cook for feel that they are missing out on anything. My mandate is simple... Feed the body and nourish the soul. I look forward to sharing my journey with you ....
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Tomato Marmalade

  1. Ange says:

    I was dubious when I tasted this sweet tomato marmalade for the first time, but totally agree – it’s a revelation once tasted, esp. as you say, with the slight acidity of (good) Greek yoghurt.

    And now thanks to your curiosity & perseverance in the test kitchen, I can try making this for myself … come summer, I see a trip to Flemo Markets in my future – join me ?!

  2. camipcos says:

    yum! Can’t wait to make this come summer time. Can I ask what greek yogurt you eat? Missing Fage terribly and can’t find another one that comes close here in Sydney. I’d love to know how you cope

    • Ahhh yes the yogurt dilemma. I don’t cope actually, I just have frequent trips to Greece so I can have my fill.

      Australian yogurt labelled as Greek style is a travesty. The Aldi one in a blue container or Chris’ (if I can find it although this has become increasing scarce). And both of those need straining to get a thicker texture. I’m still hopeful one day someone will import the real stuff, until then my hunt continues. 😩Good luck!

  3. camipcos says:

    Yum! Can’t wait to make this come summer time. I’d love to know what greek yogurt you eat? Can’t find a replacement that comes anywhere near to Fage here in Sydney.

Leave a Reply

