Mexican Salad

???????????????????????????????

It can be said that a recipe creates a synergy where the sum is much greater than the parts! Crispy chorizo, the sweet corn, the creamy avocado, the juicy tomato, the freshness from the coriander, the softness of the beans, the crunch from the onion and the spiciness from the chilli – I think the combination of ingredients in this dish creates a wonderful alchemy.

It is a perfect dish for a light dinner or substantial lunch.  A serving of corn chips or warmed tortilla makes an excellent accompaniment.

INGREDIENTS

2 corn cobs
2 gluten-free chorizo sausages, thinly sliced
1 avocado, chopped into chunky pieces
200g vine-ripened cherry tomatoes, roughly chopped
½ small red onion, sliced
400g can black beans, rinsed and drained
3 tsp finely chopped pickled jalepeno chillis
1 tblspn finely chopped coriander leaves
2 tblspn olive oil
2-3 tsp sherry vinegar
sour cream (to serve)

METHOD

1. Cook the corn for about 8-10mins until tender.  Meanwhile, fry the chorizo in a small pan until cooked and the edges are crispy and caramelised.

2. Cut the cooked corn kernels off from the cob and place into a bowl, along with the beans, onion, avocado and tomato and a sprinkle of sea salt flakes.

3. Put the olive oil and vinegar into a small jar and shake to mix and stir through the salad.

4. Add the cooked chorizo and coriander to the bowl. Toss through and taste for seasoning.

5. Serve with sour cream and corn chips (or tortillas) on the side.

Serves 2-3 people

About Soul Kitchen Blog

Welcome to Soul Kitchen Blog. Sure food ultimately is fuel for the body but made with love is so much more and truly nourishes the soul. As cliche as it sounds, life really is too short to eat bad food and drink bad wine. I have a passion for cooking and a love of good food. I am committed to my quest of searching for fabulous recipes that just so happen to be gluten free. In recent years I discovered that I have intolerance to gluten and whilst its changed my eating habits somewhat, I refuse to allow it to limit my choices to eat well or make those that I cook for feel that they are missing out on anything. My mandate is simple... Feed the body and nourish the soul. I look forward to sharing my journey with you ....
This entry was posted in Recipes, Salad, Spicy and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mexican Salad

  1. Ange says:

    Yummo – yet another simple & delicious recipe … the perfect summer light dinner or side salad. I will admit, I did ‘cheat’ slightly with regards the corn — as I didn’t have fresh corn to hand (but had all other items). So I improvised & dry roasted some tinned corn kernels; they actually turned out pretty well … OK, so I’m sure they’re not a patch on a grilled corn cob, but it did a pretty good impersonation !

Leave a Reply

