In My Kitchen – November

This month, my kitchen is in Paris. It has been a fantastic experience exploring all the culinary delights of this food obsessed nation, whilst staying in our rental apartment in Le Marais.

Apologies that I am writing this from iPhone therefore can’t quite work out the usual text then photo format for this post!

In my kitchen … are some beautiful tomatoes full of flavour. I don’t understand why we can’t have tomatoes like this in Australia. It is so unfair.

In my kitchen … some totally divine local Parisienne strawberries. It is not an exaggeration to say I have never tasted strawberries like it.

In my kitchen … Is some French sea salt. Looking forward to bringing a kilo of this home with me.

In my kitchen …is a tin of Mariage Feres tea – very expensive even in France, apparently this is tea without equal. The best you can get.

In my kitchen … Is some Comte cheese slices to have with baguette or the most incredible (non gluten-free) sourdough from our local bakeries. Poilane and Du Pain des et Idees (both famous in Paris) are close by.

In my kitchen is some butter that I got from the local fromagerie. Why can’t we get butter like this at home?

In my kitchen … I have the obligatory French minerale water and vin rouge. When dining out the wine is actually more expensive than the Perrier!

Lastly in my kitchen … I have from Greek total yogurt. If you follow my blog, you will know I am obsessed with this stuff – so had to buy a few tubs when I saw it in my local deli – even if I am in France !!!!

So that’s it for this month. Head over to Fig and Lime Cordial to check out what is happening in other blogger kitchens this month. Au revoir!

20131101-183233.jpg

20131101-183253.jpg

20131101-183312.jpg

20131101-183342.jpg

20131101-183351.jpg

20131101-183403.jpg

20131101-183414.jpg

20131101-183424.jpg

20131101-183434.jpg

About Soul Kitchen Blog

Welcome to Soul Kitchen Blog. Sure food ultimately is fuel for the body but made with love is so much more and truly nourishes the soul. As cliche as it sounds, life really is too short to eat bad food and drink bad wine. I have a passion for cooking and a love of good food. I am committed to my quest of searching for fabulous recipes that just so happen to be gluten free. In recent years I discovered that I have intolerance to gluten and whilst its changed my eating habits somewhat, I refuse to allow it to limit my choices to eat well or make those that I cook for feel that they are missing out on anything. My mandate is simple... Feed the body and nourish the soul. I look forward to sharing my journey with you ....
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to In My Kitchen – November

  1. Mrs Mulberry says:

    How lovely to see your French kitchen, what a delicious selection of goodies you have! Enjoy!!

  2. Gustoso says:

    I’m so jealous you are in Paris. You’ll be spoilt for choice in good food.

  3. Marianne says:

    How wonderful to be in Paris! Sounds amazing!

  4. Sounds like you’re having an amazing time, Karen! The tomato looks so good, and that sourdough is just perfect!

  5. nancy@jamjnr.com says:

    It’s easy to throw together a meal with great produce isn’t it. Can’t beat the cheese, tomato & bread combo in France!

  6. Glenda says:

    Great food shots from your holiday. I think you are amazingly smart to be able to do it from your iPhone

  7. G’day Karen! beautiful food shots indeed, true!
    I can almost smell the wine and cheese through my screen too!
    Cheers! Joanne
    Viewed as part of Celia’s IMK

    • Well the cheese here at times is pretty smelly – so not surprised if you could smell through computer!!

      I made a mistake purchasing a raw milk Brie type thing – tasted great but stunk our apartment out – in fact the fridge still smells of it a week later 😦

  8. Jas@AbsolutelyJas says:

    Oh my! What I would do for a Parisian kitchen! You’ve stocked it beautifully too 😉

  9. heidiannie says:

    I love the beauty of good food over all the appliances and gadgets in your post. I love gadgets too, but sometimes just seeing the basics of bread, butter, cheese, etc, reminds me of what the kitchen is really all about. Thanks so much for sharing- and lucky you- a kitchen in France.!

  10. Michelle says:

    Sounds divine

  11. Yes, I’m impressed with your grab bag of goodies. I brought back lots of salt from Europe too – a relatively cheap and practical souvenir. What I’m more impressed with it that you did your post on an iphone. Well done!

Leave a Reply

