Paleo Bread

???????????????????????????????

I came across this recipe via GOOP, Gywneth Paltrow’s very popular blog.  It was an article about healthy things to have for breakfast and the fabulous Dr Frank Lipman shared his ideas that included lots of good things.  Link here.

The Paleo (or caveman) diet follows the principles of eating eggs, meat, seafood, vegetables, fruits and nuts. It is a high protein diet. No processed foods. Nothing artificial.  No grains or legumes.  No sugar but seems honey is ok (caveman would have eaten honey from wild bee hives).   I am no expert on this diet, but there is loads of information on the internet if you are interested in knowing more.

What I liked about this bread recipe (besides the fact it is gluten-free) is that has a lower GI. I have recently become aware that replacing wheat with gluten-free foods is most likely replacing with ingredients that play havoc with blood sugar levels  – which in turn can effect our health including our cholesterol levels.

When it comes to gluten-free bread, it shouldn’t be seen as a healthier option to wheat bread.  The main ingredients of GF bread tend to be corn starch, potato flour, tapioca, maize or soy flour etc – these are all high-GI and low fiber    This recipe uses both coconut flour, almond flour and flaxseed – all of which are high fiber,  high protein and have a lower glycemic load.

This Paleo bread is more like a cake in texture than bread.  It is very moist and soft.  Try it with eggs (scrambled, fried, boiled) or topped with avocado, Vegemite or nut spreads. Not so good if you use it for sandwiches as it will fall apart. Hence the reason it is ideal for breakfast.

The bread also lasts for a few days if you wrap in foil.  It freezes well and can be toasted.

About Soul Kitchen Blog

Welcome to Soul Kitchen Blog. Sure food ultimately is fuel for the body but made with love is so much more and truly nourishes the soul. As cliche as it sounds, life really is too short to eat bad food and drink bad wine. I have a passion for cooking and a love of good food. I am committed to my quest of searching for fabulous recipes that just so happen to be gluten free. In recent years I discovered that I have intolerance to gluten and whilst its changed my eating habits somewhat, I refuse to allow it to limit my choices to eat well or make those that I cook for feel that they are missing out on anything. My mandate is simple... Feed the body and nourish the soul. I look forward to sharing my journey with you ....
This entry was posted in Breakfast, Recipes, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

