Poached Figs (or Pears) in Spiced Red Wine

Soul Kitchen Blog, spiced pears
I originally poached some pears in this red wine spice mix, and there was so much liquid leftover I decided to put in a packet of dried Greek white figs and poach them too.  The syrup had taken on additional flavours from the pears, so it became even more delicious.
I have been known to eat these figs straight from the jar, but they are fabulous on a cheese platter.  They are also divine sliced into small pieces and served at the end of a meal with a little Greek yogurt.
Ingredients
1 cup red wine
1/2 cup port
1/2 cup water
3/4 cup sugar
3 bay leaves
6 cloves
1 stick of cinnamon
1/2 vanilla bean
2 tsp black peppercorns
1-2 tblspn balsamic vinegar
1 star anise
Method
1. Simmer the poaching liquid for about 15mins for flavours to infuse (…or poach some pears!).
2. Add the dried figs and cook about 10-15mins.  Remove figs and put into a jar.
3. Boil the liquid until it reduces to a syrup.
4. Strain and pour the hot syrup over the figs and put on the lid of the jar.
5. Leave to steep for a few hours before serving.
6. Once cold the figs will keep in the fridge for months.  The flavours will continue to intensify.
About Soul Kitchen Blog

Welcome to Soul Kitchen Blog. Sure food ultimately is fuel for the body but made with love is so much more and truly nourishes the soul. As cliche as it sounds, life really is too short to eat bad food and drink bad wine. I have a passion for cooking and a love of good food. I am committed to my quest of searching for fabulous recipes that just so happen to be gluten free. In recent years I discovered that I have intolerance to gluten and whilst its changed my eating habits somewhat, I refuse to allow it to limit my choices to eat well or make those that I cook for feel that they are missing out on anything. My mandate is simple... Feed the body and nourish the soul. I look forward to sharing my journey with you ....
This entry was posted in Fruit & Vegetables, Greek, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Poached Figs (or Pears) in Spiced Red Wine

  1. ange says:

    Waste not, want not … this is something I’ve actually made before (amazingly, for the same reasons you did – to use up some delicious poaching liquid) – and they smashing.

    I can also vouch that they keep really well in the fridge … mine call to me on those nights when only something sweet & moreish will do !! I like your idea of pairing them with some Greek yoghurt; it sounds sort of healthy (but that could just be me trying to justify the indulgence !).

    I think the figs & syrup might go well as side to pannacotta.

    Looking forward to your next instalment SKB.

Leave a Reply

