Eva Longoria’s chunky guacamole and Vera Cruz corn

I came across Eva Longoria (from Desperate Housewives) cookbook in the library recently.  Now Eva is obviously gorgeous and extremely petite, so I did wonder what she would have to offer in a cookbook – 100 ways with carrot and celery sticks perhaps?

But I was wrong.  Eva’s Mexican heritage and her life in Texas has inspired her cookbook using her family’s recipes and techniques.

I really enjoyed reading Eva’s recipes and have particularly loved these two dishes – which have been on high rotation in our household since.  Chunky guacamole and Vera Cruz corn.

The first time I made the Vera Cruz corn I didn’t have the chipotle in adobo sauce required for the chipotle mayo, so substituted with Sriracha chilli sauce.  I then found the chipotle in Adobo (Goya brand) in my local Greengrocer, so have been using that since.  I would suggest that if you can’t find the chipotle in adobo, you can easily substitute with a Mexican sauce flavoured with Chipotle – Choula or Tabasco brand both make one.

Also we don’t have the Mexican cheese, queso fresco, so I just used some shredded cheese I had in the fridge (colby).   Oh and I also cheated and used Hellmann’s mayo instead of making my own.  It still taste great.

The chunky Guacamole is delicious with the Vera Cruz corn.  To add some protein, we’ve been having the dishes with some tinned tuna for lunch.  The tuna goes really well with both dishes.    The dishes would serve really well along side some BBQ chicken or beef along with a crisp green salad and some Pico de Gallo.

I haven’t made any other recipes from the book yet, but as there are loads that use corn tortilla so many dishes are gluten-free friendly 🙂

You can find the two recipes online here

About Soul Kitchen Blog

Welcome to Soul Kitchen Blog. Sure food ultimately is fuel for the body but made with love is so much more and truly nourishes the soul. As cliche as it sounds, life really is too short to eat bad food and drink bad wine. I have a passion for cooking and a love of good food. I am committed to my quest of searching for fabulous recipes that just so happen to be gluten free. In recent years I discovered that I have intolerance to gluten and whilst its changed my eating habits somewhat, I refuse to allow it to limit my choices to eat well or make those that I cook for feel that they are missing out on anything. My mandate is simple... Feed the body and nourish the soul. I look forward to sharing my journey with you ....
This entry was posted in Fruit & Vegetables, Mind Food, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Eva Longoria’s chunky guacamole and Vera Cruz corn

  1. Pingback: Chilli con Carne | Soul Kitchen Blog

Leave a Reply

