Travel Memories: Briam in Nissyros, Greece

It is hard to determine a standout meal in a holiday full of fabulous food, but one of the most memorable meals I had on our recent trip to Greece, was at Kakakios Taverna on the waterfront on the island of Nissyros in the port of Mandraki.

We dined on a meal of local fried whitebait, Horta (boiled greens), Tzatziki and a dish of roasted vegetables called Briam.  It was all fantastic however it was the Briam that stole the show.  Most Briam recipes will include eggplant (aubergine) however this one did not and surprisingly was all the better for the omission.

I chatted to the owner about this fabulous dish, and he even kindly shared with me a little parcel of dried spearmint, which was a key ingredient in the dish.

Eager to replicate this dish whilst the taste buds could still taste it, I have cooked it up a few times since I’ve been back.   If only we had the same waxy potatoes as they do in Greece,  but alas we don’t, so I used Dutch Cream and it turned out well.

Here’s s pic of the real deal, and then my version underneath.  Look similar do you think ?

I served it up similar to what we had in Greece with a plate of Tzatziki and Horta, and if I close my eyes while eating it and imagine sitting by the ocean, with waves lapping at my feet – I could be right back in Greece.  The only thing missing is local whitebait …

INGREDIENTS

4 light green zucchini
1 medium to large size Dutch Cream potato (or other waxy variety)
1 Spanish (purple) onion
1.5 tblspn chopped tinned tomato pulp (I used Mutti brand)
1 tblspn finely chopped parsley
1 tsp sea salt
½ tsp dried rigano (Greek oregano)
½ tsp dried mint (spearmint preferably)
3 tblspn extra virgin olive oil

METHOD

1. Firstly chop the zucchini, potato and onion into a dice so that they are similar in size.  You want the vegetables to be cut about the size of a thumbnail and ½ cm thick.

2.  Next mix through the herbs and add the tomato, salt and olive oil. Stir well to combine.

3. Place into an oven proof dish – a terracotta one works well.

4. Bake at 180C for 2 hours, stirring regularly to ensure it does not dry out.  Add a little extra oil if you think it looks too dry.  Taste for seasoning and add more salt if necessary.

5. Serve at room temperature.

Serves 2-3

About Soul Kitchen Blog

Welcome to Soul Kitchen Blog. Sure food ultimately is fuel for the body but made with love is so much more and truly nourishes the soul. As cliche as it sounds, life really is too short to eat bad food and drink bad wine. I have a passion for cooking and a love of good food. I am committed to my quest of searching for fabulous recipes that just so happen to be gluten free. In recent years I discovered that I have intolerance to gluten and whilst its changed my eating habits somewhat, I refuse to allow it to limit my choices to eat well or make those that I cook for feel that they are missing out on anything. My mandate is simple... Feed the body and nourish the soul. I look forward to sharing my journey with you ....
This entry was posted in Greek, Recipes, Travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Travel Memories: Briam in Nissyros, Greece

  1. petit4chocolatier says:

    This looks and sounds so good!!

Leave a Reply

