Newsflash: real Greek yoghurt now available in Sydney

The most exciting foodie news I have had in a long long time has happened. Fage Total brand yoghurt is now being imported direct from Greece by Kebia Importex in Marrickville, Sydney.

This is big news indeed and it is my favourite brand of yoghurt in the whole world.  Read my previous post about my passion for it here.

This is a photo of my haul first visit 10 days ago. Ok I admit went a bit overboard given we are a household of two. But the joy from eating real proper Greek yoghurt !  My oh my.  We actually polished it ALL off pretty quickly.

Anyway, it ain’t cheap.  But it is a hell of a lot cheaper than a trip to Greece.

The flavoured variety has a clever packaging innovation, whereby you add the little side tub of fruit into the main tub of plain yoghurt and mix it through as much as you like.

I buy the full fat 5% plain yoghurt.  That said even the 0% fat is creamier and thicker than anything we can get here in Australia – and all have lower carbs (sugar).

You can buy direct from the factory, or call them to find out what retailers are selling it.

Kebia Importex

4 Carrington Road, Marrickville, NSW 2204 Australia
Tel: (02) 9558 8555

UPDATE 6 September 2013:  Kebia Importex told me that they are no longer bringing this product into Australia.  Maybe the more people that call and ask about it, might make them decide it is worth considering again.  

About Soul Kitchen Blog

Welcome to Soul Kitchen Blog. Sure food ultimately is fuel for the body but made with love is so much more and truly nourishes the soul. As cliche as it sounds, life really is too short to eat bad food and drink bad wine. I have a passion for cooking and a love of good food. I am committed to my quest of searching for fabulous recipes that just so happen to be gluten free. In recent years I discovered that I have intolerance to gluten and whilst its changed my eating habits somewhat, I refuse to allow it to limit my choices to eat well or make those that I cook for feel that they are missing out on anything. My mandate is simple... Feed the body and nourish the soul. I look forward to sharing my journey with you ....
This entry was posted in Greek, Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Newsflash: real Greek yoghurt now available in Sydney

  1. petit4chocolatier says:

    Love the Greek Yogurt best. It is really good for you, but more expensive. Good to cook with too!!

  2. kathi says:

    That is the best yogurt! It is really great for anyone watching their fat and carb intake. Lots of good protein. Am calling tomorrow in hopes that they have decided to continue importing it. If not, too bad for us!

    • Hi Kathi, yep it is the best for sure – and the best for fat and carb watchers. I just replied to someone else on this subject, but from what I can tell, they aren’t importing it again. But if anyone comes across my blog, please call them. The more people that show interest the better chance they might import again. Thanks for stopping by.

  3. Elly says:

    I was so excited when I saw your blog post about Fage yoghurt being imported to Australia. We have been in England for the last couple of years and I’ve been living on this yoghurt. I was gutted to see the later comment that it’s no longer being imported. It’s the most amazing yoghurt I’ve ever tried. We just love it. With less than four weeks left until we return to Oz I will make sure I don’t miss a single day. They have another fruit yoghurt now with fruit pieces mixed it. I’ve only tried the peach one so far but have a blueberry one in the fridge. Oh, how I’ll miss my breakfasts!
    Elly on narrowboat Parisien Star.
    ellyandmick.blogspot.com

    • Hi Elly
      Sadly Fage is no longer to be found in this country. And we have nothing that even comes close. All our yoghurt is watery or those that are sweet is laden with sugar . Eat up and enjoy before you arrive.

      And why you are there make sure you have you fill of real French butter and French cheese too as whilst we have them here it is soooo expensive !

  4. Lyn says:

    Do you know if anyone is importing this or if it is getting sold in Sydney again? I’m so interested in this as I had a try of this yogurt back in Singapore

    • Hi Lyn – no sadly, it is currently not being imported to Australia by anyone. So disappointing to hear that it is available in Singapore but we can’t manage to bring it in to this country especially when there are so many Greeks here that could support it.

  5. Carolyn says:

    As a new import to Sydney from Greece myself, I am hugely disappointed that I cannot find any “proper” yoghurt here, especially to give to my toddler. The only thing that comes close is the Greek-owned deli at Roselands shopping centre opposite Coles who make their own proper strained yoghurt, but unfortunately they sweeten it. As far as texture goes though, it is really very good. Hope this helps anyone.

    BTW, does anyone know the reason why no one imports Fage yoghurts?? Surely it’s not for lack of market, there has to be some other reason.

    • Hi Carolyn, welcome. I am currently in Greece eating Fage and my new favourite Olympia brand and lamenting the lack ion Australia how awful the yoghurt ours actually is. They shouldn’t be allowed to call it Greek !!!!!!! The import laws into Australia is what I understand to be the issue and short shelt life – but we can get Italian buffalo mozzarella into the country with a similar shelf life so I’m not sure why.

Leave a Reply

