Uncontaminated Oats – Toasted Muesli

I feel like I won the lottery recently when I came across these uncontaminated oats.There is a lot of confusion about eating oats when you are following a gluten-free diet.  In a nutshell, oats contain gluten, but it is a type of gluten that 4 in 5 people affected with gluten intolerance can tolerate. BUT…to further complicate this regular oats are an no-go zone because they are grown in circumstances where they are cross contaminated with gluten grains like wheat, rye and barley.

So uncontaminated oats, grown and harvested in an environment where they have not been tainted with the gluten grains are safe for most people.  The packet can’t be labelled gluten-free because those with Celiac could be affected with the particular strain of gluten that oats contain (Avenin).

It says on the packet that you should check with your doctor before you consume uncontaminated oats if you are have Celiac disease.   Read about the oats here.
Read statement from Celiac society here.

I have been completely unaffected with any symptoms and have been happily woofing down these oats in apple crumble and this home-made toasted muesli (granola).  PS. Oats are lower GI than most other cereals, and is soluable fiber which is important as a lot of gluten-free alternatives are high GI.

Here’s a quick, easy and DELICIOUS toasted muesli.

For the nuts,  I like to use a combo of almonds, pistachio,  sunflower, pepitas, and a sprinkle of some chia seeds. Macadamia or hazelnuts are also lovely.

For the dried fruit, I like to use dried sour cherries or cranberries. Sometimes prunes.

INGREDIENTS

2 cups uncontaminated oats
1 cup nuts (combination of your choice)
1/2 cup shredded coconut or coconut chips
1/4 cup macadamia oil
1/4 cup maple syrup
A sprinkle of dried fruit of your choice to serve

METHOD:

Mix the nuts and oats in a large bowl with oil and maple syrup.

Spread out onto a baking tray and toast in the oven at 180C

Toss every 5-7 mins to ensure even toasting.  It will take around 20mins of cooking to be perfect.

Once toasted, you could add through the dried fruit before putting into a glass jar to store.

Or top with the fruit when serving. This way you can vary the fruit each morning.

Makes approx 3.5 cups.

About Soul Kitchen Blog

Welcome to Soul Kitchen Blog. Sure food ultimately is fuel for the body but made with love is so much more and truly nourishes the soul. As cliche as it sounds, life really is too short to eat bad food and drink bad wine. I have a passion for cooking and a love of good food. I am committed to my quest of searching for fabulous recipes that just so happen to be gluten free. In recent years I discovered that I have intolerance to gluten and whilst its changed my eating habits somewhat, I refuse to allow it to limit my choices to eat well or make those that I cook for feel that they are missing out on anything. My mandate is simple... Feed the body and nourish the soul. I look forward to sharing my journey with you ....
This entry was posted in Breakfast, Gluten Free Products and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

