My Daily Bean – The Grounds, Alexandria

This is the best cafe in Sydney. There I’ve said it. I didn’t want to say it because I can never get a table as it is, and I’ve tried to keep it a secret for as long as possible.

I love this place. Everything. Full stop.

It has the best fit out of any cafe I know. Gorgeous attention to detail.

Coffee excellent. House roast.

Food is excellent and beautifully presented … And even better that they have now introduced gluten free bread from Deeksit. It is one of the best commercial GF breads I’ve tried anywhere. See pic below.

They are going to be expanding to dinner service and are building a wood fire oven. They said they will look to experiment with some gluten free pizza bases 🙂

There is a huge garden on site where they grow their own herbs and vegetables.

I have been coming here since before they opened. We watched with interest as the fit out was completed.

The only downsides is that parking can be a nightmare and there is always a queue. The hassle does turn us off going there sometimes … but when there is this much love put into a business, and they nail every aspect as they have (and continue to do) – the owners deserve to be as busy as they are. Bravo to them !

Coffee: 5 out 5
Ambiance: 6 out of 5 !!
Newspapers: Yes
Gluten free: Yes, gluten free bread

Address 2 Huntley Street, Alexandria

20120809-142742.jpg

20120809-142817.jpg

20120809-142851.jpg

20120809-142911.jpg

Excellent gluten free bread

20120815-113926.jpg

About Soul Kitchen Blog

Welcome to Soul Kitchen Blog. Sure food ultimately is fuel for the body but made with love is so much more and truly nourishes the soul. As cliche as it sounds, life really is too short to eat bad food and drink bad wine. I have a passion for cooking and a love of good food. I am committed to my quest of searching for fabulous recipes that just so happen to be gluten free. In recent years I discovered that I have intolerance to gluten and whilst its changed my eating habits somewhat, I refuse to allow it to limit my choices to eat well or make those that I cook for feel that they are missing out on anything. My mandate is simple... Feed the body and nourish the soul. I look forward to sharing my journey with you ....
This entry was posted in Dining Out. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to My Daily Bean – The Grounds, Alexandria

  1. Christine says:

    Best not to go on the weekend, unless you like strollers!

  2. mimirhonda says:

    Can’t wait to try it!

  3. Teresa says:

    hey – any idea where you can get the Deeksit bread from in Sydney? I’ve just googled it & haven;t come up with anything – it looks VERY tasty!!!

Leave a Reply

