In My Kitchen – July 2012

I haven’t done one of these posts for a few months and here we are in July already … gosh, where is the year going?

Firstly, in my kitchen

… is an Eva Solo coffee maker.  I actually got this through Etihad Airlines frequent flyer program. I had points that were about to expire so used them to get this. It is a gorgeous design and very clever how it works.  The little neoprene jacket keeps the coffee warm. I rarely make coffee at home, preferring to go out to a cafe, but will get rid of my old plungers and use this new baby when the need arises.

In my kitchen

… is an apple corer.  I make baked apples a lot in winter for dessert, so decided to invest in one of these to make my life easier.  I used to butcher them terribly trying to core with a knife, now a quick zip and it is a perfectly cored. I particularly liked this one as the cavity is just the right size to fill with dried cranberries, nuts, butter and maple syrup.  I think it might be Cuisinart brand, but don’t quote me !

In my kitchen

… is a packet of gluten-free marshmallows from Aldi.  These are soft and fluffy and vanilla flavoured – just perfect in my white chocolate rocky road.

In my kitchen

… is my latest batch of cookbooks from my local library.  I draw your attention to ‘Let it Simmer’ by Sean Moran.  This is my new favourite cookbook – I ended up ordering my own copy after I decided I couldn’t part with it and return to the library.  If you have been following my blog for a long time, you would be familiar with the chicken and corn recipe I adapted from this book. It is still our favourite chicken dish in the world, but I’ve been making the recipe for Guinea Fowl with chestnut stuffing (using chicken) every week since I got this book.  DELICIOUS.

One more thing before I move off this subject. I finally dined at Sean Moran’s restaurant, Sean’s Panorama in Sydney last month.  If you live in Sydney or come to Sydney, I highly recommend it, in fact I can’t stop raving!  In my opinion, this restaurant defines cooking with soul.  It is a simple menu, with honest cooking and flavours that just blow your mind.

In my kitchen

… is a soda stream.  Have had this for a few years, but as it is one the most useful things in my kitchen, I thought I’d include here. Does everyone have one ?  Gone are the days of opening a bottle of soda water and it going flat before we finished it.  Gone are the days of having a cupboard full of sparkling mineral water taking up valuable kitchen space. Gone are the days of throwing out empty PET bottles.  We now have fresh sparkling soda water anytime we want it and as often as we need it. Brilliant.

In my kitchen

… is a jar of coconut oil from Papua New Guinea. It is great quality and we use this oil when frying, it is especially fantastic with Asian flavours and curries.

That is it for this month.  As we head towards mid-winter here in Australia, there is nothing else to do but bunker down, keep warm, cook and eat 🙂

Head over to Fig and Lime Cordial to check out what is happening ‘in the kitchen’ of other bloggers this month.

About Soul Kitchen Blog

Welcome to Soul Kitchen Blog. Sure food ultimately is fuel for the body but made with love is so much more and truly nourishes the soul. As cliche as it sounds, life really is too short to eat bad food and drink bad wine. I have a passion for cooking and a love of good food. I am committed to my quest of searching for fabulous recipes that just so happen to be gluten free. In recent years I discovered that I have intolerance to gluten and whilst its changed my eating habits somewhat, I refuse to allow it to limit my choices to eat well or make those that I cook for feel that they are missing out on anything. My mandate is simple... Feed the body and nourish the soul. I look forward to sharing my journey with you ....
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to In My Kitchen – July 2012

  1. heidi says:

    I love my apple corer. I also use it on cupcakes to make space for filling- and when decorating pumpkins to make perfect holes.
    Marshmallows are a staple in my pantry- but that soda stream looks like something I need and would get if I could only find space for it!

    • Ahhh Heidi, I think we all have that same dilemma, not enough space in the kitchen. I am currently contemplating a fruit juicing machine but there just ain’t anywhere to put it !!!

  2. I love the apple corer too! I’ve never tried using one. How does the clever coffee maker work? The little neoprene jacket is very cute.. 🙂

    Thanks for the recco to Sean’s Panorama – I’ve never been, but have heard lots of good things about it. And the soda stream is a blast from the past, although they’re regaining popularity again! Thanks for sharing your kitchen with us! 🙂

    • Hi Celia, you MUST go to Sean’s … And make sure at least one of you has the chook!

      The coffee maker is similar to French press. You measure coffee and add water and stir for a minute with the little paddle it comes with. Zip up its jacket and in 3-4 minutes voila, brewed coffee. The conical strainer sits in the neck of the carafe and stops the coffee beans from entering your cup. Best of all everything is dishwasher proof – which is a must for me.

      Thanks for stopping by 🙂

  3. Love the apple corer too! Baked apples are one of my absolute favourites! Soda Stream is making a comeback. Much cheaper than store bought!

    • Hi Lizzy, yeah the soda stream is making a comeback. I notice that they have a new model that has glass bottles, which is a great initiative – much better than plastic ones like mine.

  4. Misky says:

    I have virgin coconut oil also that I use for frying. I’m still uncertain if it’s good or bad for a person. Too much information can sometimes be so confusing!

    • Yes totally agree it is very confusing. Coconut oil in particular has lots of conflicting views.

      When in doubt I always stick to the old adage … ‘everything in moderation’ is ok 🙂

  5. Tandy says:

    What a clever idea to get recipe books out of the library! I wish I had thought of that 🙂

  6. Glenda says:

    Karen, I just realised that I hadn’t seen your IMK. I have a Soda Stream and think its wonderful. I agree with everything you said about it.

Leave a Reply

