Desa Seni, Bali

Could this be the most healthy and delicious food in Bali ?  Desa Seni is actually a yoga retreat but allow visitors to the restaurant, health spa and yoga classes.  We didn’t make it to any of the classes (as planned) but we did manage lunch a few times.

Situated amongst the rice paddies in Canggu about 10-15 minutes drive from Seminyak, Desa Seni is owned by two New Yorkers, and you can see the love and attention to detail that has gone into making this quite a special place.  The rooms are actually traditional antique Indonesian village homes, transported to the site and fitted out with all the mod cons.  There is a sense of peace as you wander through the resort to get to the restaurant.  I can imagine the guests here would never want to leave the resort.

I highly recommend a visit for lunch if you happen to be in Seminyak area of Bali.  I hear that the restaurant is more popular for lunch than dinner. They have lots of salads, wraps and things to cater for vegan and vegetarians, as well as meat dishes. Most dishes have a fresh Indonesian/Asian slant.  Not a lot of gluten free – but I worked around it.

The coconuts are beautifully presented and carved with clever precision.

One of the things that I was particularly taken with were the polenta chips. I assume that they make a firm polenta, leave it to set and then cut into chips and deep fry.

Ok, so these aren’t the healthiest thing on the menu, but wow, they did taste really good AND we were on holidays  🙂

Link to Desa Seni

About Soul Kitchen Blog

Welcome to Soul Kitchen Blog. Sure food ultimately is fuel for the body but made with love is so much more and truly nourishes the soul. As cliche as it sounds, life really is too short to eat bad food and drink bad wine. I have a passion for cooking and a love of good food. I am committed to my quest of searching for fabulous recipes that just so happen to be gluten free. In recent years I discovered that I have intolerance to gluten and whilst its changed my eating habits somewhat, I refuse to allow it to limit my choices to eat well or make those that I cook for feel that they are missing out on anything. My mandate is simple... Feed the body and nourish the soul. I look forward to sharing my journey with you ....
This entry was posted in Travel and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Desa Seni, Bali

  1. Everything is healthy about this place.

Leave a comment