Korean Bulgogi Beef

This dish has been on my hit list for a long time, waiting until we got a barbecue.  I have a couple of recipes from a few different sources but decided to adapt one I had found in Australian Good Taste. I made mine with topside, as I don’t know what sizzle steaks are !  Marinating and cooking quickly on the barbecue ensures that the meat is tender and flavoursome.

One of the tricks in the marinade is using a small amount of fresh nashi pear. Papaya and kiwi fruit are known to break down the enzymes in meat – and it seems nashi pear does the same. Steve Snow, celebrity chef from Fins Seafood recipe in Northern NSW marinates  octopus in papaya skin or kiwi before chargrilling, which guarantees a tender result. Who woulda thought !?

Anyway to this beef recipe, I’ve obviously used ingredients to make it gluten-free. I served this with homemade pickled cucumber and Korean Kimchi.  I would have also liked to serve with Ssamjang (chilli bean sauce) but I couldn’t find it in my local Asian store. I also substituted the white sugar with Coconut Palm Sugar as it is low GI and a much better flavour.

Authentically, I’ve served with butter lettuce, however iceberg is much easier to wrap and roll !!

Healthy, tasty … and low carb !

INGREDIENTS

500g topside steak
1 tblspn Tamari or GF soy sauce
1 tblspn coconut palm sugar
2 cloves garlic, finely chopped
1 tblspn rice wine vinegar
1 nashi pear, cored and coarsely chopped
1 small red onion, coarsely chopped

METHOD

1. Cut the beef into 3-4cm pieces.  Place into a glass bowl and add soy, sugar, vinegar, garlic.  Season with black pepper and cover with lid or plastic wrap and leave to marinate for around 3-4 hours.

2. Blend the nashi and onion together in a blender. Add the mix to the beef, add the sesame and stir through to combine.  Leave on kitchen bench to marinate for 30 minutes, bringing beef to room temperature.

3. Heat your barbecue to high and cook the beef for 1-2minutes, turn over and cook for 1 more minute.

4.  On a platter, place beef, butter lettuce, shallots, kimchi  and Ssamjang or chilli sauce on the side if desired.  Guests pick up a piece of lettuce, a slice of beef, a piece of kimchi and/or ssamjang sauce, wrapping and rolling  their own little parcels.

Serves 2

http://www.taste.com.au/recipes/26910/bulgogi

About Soul Kitchen Blog

Welcome to Soul Kitchen Blog. Sure food ultimately is fuel for the body but made with love is so much more and truly nourishes the soul. As cliche as it sounds, life really is too short to eat bad food and drink bad wine. I have a passion for cooking and a love of good food. I am committed to my quest of searching for fabulous recipes that just so happen to be gluten free. In recent years I discovered that I have intolerance to gluten and whilst its changed my eating habits somewhat, I refuse to allow it to limit my choices to eat well or make those that I cook for feel that they are missing out on anything. My mandate is simple... Feed the body and nourish the soul. I look forward to sharing my journey with you ....
This entry was posted in Meat, Recipes, Spicy and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Korean Bulgogi Beef

  1. Karen says:

    Thank you for a very interesting recipe, especially about using the nashi pear.

  2. Very nicely arranged with healthy ingredients…

  3. Tandy says:

    I have never heard of Nashi pear, but this sounds great 🙂 I have just given you an award …

    • Nashi is rather bland crisp pear like fruit the size and shape of an apple. Its popular in Asia. I rarely eat it but it tends to be used a lot as part of cheese platters. If you can’t find, substitute with small piece of papaya flesh 🙂

  4. william says:

    You should try sesame leaves instead of lettuce next time.

    • Thanks Wiiliam. I will. I think Sesame leaves are called Perilla here in Australia. I will try to find next time – sesame leaves is a traditional herb in Korean cooking (and nutritionally healthy). Cheers

Leave a Reply

