In My Kitchen – April 2012

How time flies … Three months into the new year already. It has been a busy month in my day job have hardly found time to cook, let alone blog ! Thankfully, last week things have returned to normal.

Anyway, I thought I’d kick off the month, following Celia’s lead at Fig and Lime Cordial with what is happening this month in my kitchen.

Firstly, in my kitchen…

…is some Ayam coconut powder. Despite my initial reservations, I am actually liking this product. For starters, I can tailor make the amount I need, so am not wasting a whole can when I only need say, 125ml. I think it depends on what you use this for, but it worked very well in my last batch of Dahl and was also successful in my last chicken curry. Even better than the canned variety. I wouldn’t use this in recipes where you have to add in coconut milk at the last minute. And of course, nothing beats the fresh stuff made straight from freshly grated coconut.

In my kitchen …

… is a new Neoflam frypan. This has a ceramic coating and apparently, won’t flake and crack like other non-stick surfaces. I am still getting used to cooking with it as I have noticed it gets really hot so need to cook at a much lower temperature. I am also following instructions and not using low smoke point oils, like olive oil to fry with (which is bad for you to fry at high temperatures anyway).

In my kitchen …

… is my latest batch of library books. So far, I am loving Eamon Sullivan’s book. It is just the kind of food that I like to eat and cook. There are quite a few gluten-free recipes in there too. Eamon is a great athlete, nice bloke and a pretty fantastic cook. I have his amazing Masterchef winning, ‘Chocolate Delice’ dessert on my top 10 things to cook this year. The cookbook has a less complicated version than the one cooked on Masterchef, so I might road test that one first.

In my kitchen …

… I have a bottle of Sriracha sauce. Whilst the label looks Vietnamese, this one was made in the USA. It is a hot chilli sauce made with sun roasted chilli’s. I love it mixed with Hellman’s mayo on sandwiches or straight up anything.

In my kitchen …

… is some pesto made with a mix of basil, mint and parsley from my garden. I have a big batch in the freezer to use for later, as well as some in a jar in the fridge to use now. I put loads of garlic in there to keep away the vampires and the dreaded lurgies.

In my kitchen …

… is a bottle of Noilly Pratt vermouth, that I used in cooking when the recipe calls for white wine. Not being a fan of white wine, I find it a waste when I have to open a bottle to use only a small amount in a recipe. Noilly Pratt won’t go off and therefore sits happily in my cupboard on those occasions I need to incorporate into a recipe. Now – if the recipe requires red wine, that is a whole other story, no problem with wastage then !!!

That is it for this month. If you would like to see what is happening in other blogger kitchen’s this month, pop over to Fig and Lime Cordial 🙂

About Soul Kitchen Blog

Welcome to Soul Kitchen Blog. Sure food ultimately is fuel for the body but made with love is so much more and truly nourishes the soul. As cliche as it sounds, life really is too short to eat bad food and drink bad wine. I have a passion for cooking and a love of good food. I am committed to my quest of searching for fabulous recipes that just so happen to be gluten free. In recent years I discovered that I have intolerance to gluten and whilst its changed my eating habits somewhat, I refuse to allow it to limit my choices to eat well or make those that I cook for feel that they are missing out on anything. My mandate is simple... Feed the body and nourish the soul. I look forward to sharing my journey with you ....
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to In My Kitchen – April 2012

  1. Christine says:

    You must have a good local library to borrow such recent cookbooks. I love the hot chilli sauce. I just checked the label on mine, imported from Malaysia but made in China!!
    What oil do you use in your new pan?

    • Hi Christine, LOL, your sauce is even more multicultural than mine!!!!

      I’ve been using grapeseed and ricebran, however I’m doing some research on oils and will have to reassess. It is a confusing minefield. While these both have higher smoke points, I’m reading that they aren’t stable under heat and being high in omega 6 is not a good thing. It seems that coconut, butter and macadamia are the safest oils to fry with.

  2. Wow, I am with Christine, you myst indeed have a great local library to borrow those cookbooks. Love the sound of your frypan! And the coconut powder is a good idea. We always have one on standby. Thank you for sharing your kitchen.

    • Hi Lizzy. Libraries are even better now with their online networks. It means having access to more than just the library you are a member of. As a lover of cookbooks, I can feed my obsession easily by searching the library online catalogue and they will order it in – no charge. love it 🙂

  3. You are prepared with some spring cooking. Good luck…

  4. Tandy says:

    I am going to have to find some Noilly Pratt when we are overseas! Love what is in your kitchen – have fun with the frying pan – I got a small one yesterday 🙂

  5. There’s so much cool stuff in your kitchen, thank you for sharing it with us! We’ve only just discovered the joy of non-stick ceramic frypans, although ours are a French brand. They’re so slippery – I tried frying an egg in one the other day, and when I went to flip it, it slipped right out of the pan! 🙂

    Adore the Ayam brand coconut milk powder – we use it as a standard now, and only rarely use tinned. I’m sure fresh is better, but my Asian spice man assures me that the powdered stuff is what they mainly use in Sri Lanka. I find that if I whisk it into a glass of cold water first, I can even add it at the end of a dish and it won’t curdle.

    And you’ve reminded me to dust off my library card – I don’t use it nearly often enough! 🙂

  6. heidiannie says:

    I’m going to have to find some powder- I hate having half a can left over- and can only eat a small portion of Coconut rice with mangoes!
    Your pan looks very nifty and I understand about the white wine/vermouth dilemna- I use a tawny port instead of white wine in cooking.

    • I’m sure you will find it. I’ve always overlooked it because I thought it would be inferior. Very happy with this discovery and also it takes up less room in the cupboard 🙂

  7. delicio8 says:

    Wow, I didn’t know about coconut powder! I will have to look into that. Is it creamy? I like using an Asian brand of sake (I think) instead of white wine because it doesn’t go off either. Vermouth is a good idea too, hmmmmm. Sriracha is the most amazing invention, love it on eggs.

    • Yes it is creamy but not thick, if that makes sense. I have some sake also that I use sometimes instead of Chinese rice wine, but good to know you have used successfully in place of white wine.

Leave a Reply

