Peri Peri Chicken

Hmm love a good Portugese chicken.  This recipe belongs to Ben O’Donoghue, the celebrity Aussie chef who has maybe best known for his TV series with Curtis Stone, called Surfing the Menu.

This is a delicious, tasty way to cook chicken. Traditional Portuguese chicken has the bird roasted with a spice rub and served with a fiery Peri Peri chilli sauce.  This one is marinated in the Peri Peri sauce and grilled which takes some of the fire out of the chilli.

I used our Weber Q 320 and roasted the chicken on a rack over the specified herbs.   If using a weber cook on indirect heat (outside burner on only) with the dial midway (medium heat).    My 1.5 kg bird took 1.5 hours and was cooked perfectly.  Let stand for 15 minutes before serving.

Alternatively, you could roast the bird in the oven on 200C.

I used a whole chicken, butterflied instead of the thigh fillets in the recipe. I only used long red chilli’s instead of the smaller hot ones.

It teamed well with potato gratin, (which I also cooked in a foil tray in the weber) and green salad. Strangely, it also goes very well with my Ranch dressing.

Ben’s recipe is found in his excellent BBQ cookbook – OUTDOOR, grill your way around the world.

For the recipe, AWW have published it online here.

About Soul Kitchen Blog

Welcome to Soul Kitchen Blog. Sure food ultimately is fuel for the body but made with love is so much more and truly nourishes the soul. As cliche as it sounds, life really is too short to eat bad food and drink bad wine. I have a passion for cooking and a love of good food. I am committed to my quest of searching for fabulous recipes that just so happen to be gluten free. In recent years I discovered that I have intolerance to gluten and whilst its changed my eating habits somewhat, I refuse to allow it to limit my choices to eat well or make those that I cook for feel that they are missing out on anything. My mandate is simple... Feed the body and nourish the soul. I look forward to sharing my journey with you ....
This entry was posted in Meat, Recipes, Spicy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Peri Peri Chicken

  1. That is very very mouth watering.

  2. shimmmergirl says:

    that looks wonderful! I’ll definitely be trying it .

Leave a Reply

