To Weber or not to Weber

Towards the end of last year, Choice magazine did a survey on BBQ’s and the Weber Q 320 came out on top. This prompted a discussion in our household that it was time for us to upgrade from our charcoal Weber and move to gas. We never used the old one, too much effort to fire it up (literally) and it pretty much sat in the garage unused.

Keeping in mind the outcome from the Choice survey, I took to the computer and did some online research. Ok … ‘some research’ is probably an understatement – I did a hellova lot. I read forums, product reviews and went into every BBQ shop in the neighbourhood. No matter where I turned the Weber Q brand kept coming up trumps.

Everyone loved their Weber – honestly was quite amazed how much people were raving about this thing. There were guys saying that it was the best barbie they have ever owned, there were so many people saying it cooked the best steaks and roasts they had ever eaten. People raved how easy it was the clean.

It also used less gas in comparison to others due to lid down cooking method. It was however, the cooking with the lid down that seemed to turn some people off the idea of the Weber. In fact, E was not liking the idea – being a man – in his role of tong master – the way to cook the Aussie barbie was to turn and turn and turn whilst chatting over a few beers. The Weber turns this concept on the head and therefore does take a little to get used to.

However the glowing reviews really sealed the deal – the decision was made – the Weber Q but which model?

We wanted to have a temperature gauge, which meant we had to purchase from a speciality Weber store. It’s a bit silly that this is not a mandatory feature on all the models in my opinion. If you plan on using the Weber for roasting, I feel you need a temperature gauge. After much much much deliberation (and research) we decided to go with the 220 over the 320.

Unfortunately, by the time our decision was made – it was just after Christmas, the Weber 220 was sold out EVERYWHERE – there was actually not one in the entire city of Sydney. Apparently it is the most popular model.

In the end the fabulous sales person convinced us that the Weber 320 was a better buy and a better barbie – although we did wonder if it was a sales pitch cause they had some of those in stock ! We couldn’t be happier.

A quick comparison if you are wondering which model to buy.

Weber Q 220

  • Smaller, portable, feeds up to 10
  • Can be moved around and used without a stand
  • Its cheaper $499
  • The stand is extra, but the side trays are quite flimsy
  • Gas bottle doesn’t fit on stand

Weber Q 320

  • Feeds up to 15
  • Comes with the stand (not portable) and is a sturdier stand than 220.
  • Grill splits in two which is very convenient for cleaning
  • Has two burners for extra power and cooks steak better
  • Larger area so you can do roast meat and vegies together
  • Has the ability to heat up to around 300C
  • Gas bottle sits on the stand and hidden from view

Cleaning is a breeze – heat on high for 10mins whilst you are eating your meal, and any food remnants will turn to carbon – then with the special stainless Weber brush, you give the grills a quick clean. I love that I can fit the two halves of the grills into our sink and soak them in soapy water (on the rare occasion the above method doesn’t get everything off).

I honestly can’t believe how much we used this thing. For the last six weeks, we’ve used it four times a week (at least). Because you cook with the lid down, I’ve even used it in the rain. It seriously does do the best steaks I’ve ever had – but also the best roast chicken. I have never cooked such a succulent, crispy skin chicken. Fabulous juicy lamb chops. Excellent melting ribs. Amazing fish. Awesome grilled vegetables.

I heart our Weber Q 320 🙂

About Soul Kitchen Blog

Welcome to Soul Kitchen Blog. Sure food ultimately is fuel for the body but made with love is so much more and truly nourishes the soul. As cliche as it sounds, life really is too short to eat bad food and drink bad wine. I have a passion for cooking and a love of good food. I am committed to my quest of searching for fabulous recipes that just so happen to be gluten free. In recent years I discovered that I have intolerance to gluten and whilst its changed my eating habits somewhat, I refuse to allow it to limit my choices to eat well or make those that I cook for feel that they are missing out on anything. My mandate is simple... Feed the body and nourish the soul. I look forward to sharing my journey with you ....
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to To Weber or not to Weber

  1. I love my baby Q and wish we had bought a big Weber when we invested in a larger BBQ!

  2. E says:

    Babe, We need to talk … Intervention required!!

  3. Weber are the best product so far.

Leave a Reply

