In My Kitchen – February

Its been a few months since I’ve done one of these.  How time flies, I can’t believe it is mid-Feb already – where did January go ?  Summer is almost over before it arrives.

In my kitchen …

… I have some gorgeous fresh figs, picked from our tree.  We have a bumper crop this year.   For some reason, we have no olives, avocados or mangoes, at all this year – but a zillion figs.    There is nothing better than ripping a ripe fig from the tree and eating it straight away.  Divine.

In my kitchen …

…is a packet of Coconut Palm Sugar.  I got this recently in a health food shop and was quite intrigued that it is low GI (almost half that of cane sugar).  Made from the flowers of a coconut palm it can be substituted for normal sugar in recipes 1:1 but without the effect normal sugar has on glucose levels. It has a caramelised flavour and the best thing, is that I’m now using it in all my Asian dishes as it so easy to use.  I can use a spoon to measure the quantity I need instead of shaving bits of palm sugar that I usually buy from the Asian supermarket, which is the hard as a brick !

In my kitchen …

…is our Weber Q 320.  Ok, so not technically in my kitchen, but close to it. Since this has become a member of our household about a month ago, I’ve hardly used our stove and oven.  More on this in another post.  I heart our weber 🙂

In my kitchen …

… is some red Basmati rice.  I got this from my favourite Sri Lanka supplies shop in Flemington, Sydney.  Red rice is the favoured rice grown in Sri Lanka.  Like white Basmati, I think that it may be low GI, however I can’t be sure – seems to be conflicting reports via the ever trusty google search. I found this red rice flour in a health food shop to use in gluten-free recipes.  Haven’t used either yet, but looking forward to testing with my next curry.

In my kitchen …

… I have some fabulous imported buffalo mozzarella which I love to have with ripe juicy tomatoes, torn fresh basil and a drizzle of good olive oil (aka Caprese salad).  Served with some of the best ham and salami in Sydney from Pino’s at Kogarah – it doesn’t get much better than this for a light lunch.   Pino’s Dolce Vita Fine Foods is a very special shop.  Predominately a butcher, it is the place to go for top quality meats, amazing prosciutto, a huge variety of house-made sausages and all manner of salami and small goods.

That’s it for now. Tell me what is happening in your kitchen this month.

PS. You might like to pop over and check out what is happening in Fig and Lime Cordial’s kitchen this month 🙂

About Soul Kitchen Blog

Welcome to Soul Kitchen Blog. Sure food ultimately is fuel for the body but made with love is so much more and truly nourishes the soul. As cliche as it sounds, life really is too short to eat bad food and drink bad wine. I have a passion for cooking and a love of good food. I am committed to my quest of searching for fabulous recipes that just so happen to be gluten free. In recent years I discovered that I have intolerance to gluten and whilst its changed my eating habits somewhat, I refuse to allow it to limit my choices to eat well or make those that I cook for feel that they are missing out on anything. My mandate is simple... Feed the body and nourish the soul. I look forward to sharing my journey with you ....
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to In My Kitchen – February

  1. Lordy, you are my kindred spirit. I love this, all of it! And those figs… oh… mmmmm. And the buffalo mozzarella … perfect for the salad I made. Thank you so much for sharing your kitchen!

  2. Karen, thanks for playing! I LOVE the figs – our neighbour has two trees full – and like you, they seem to be the only thing doing really well this year. The rain and lack of sun seems to be playing havoc with everyone’s gardens! We made a Jamie Oliver fig salad yesterday – using figs, mozzarella, basil and prosciutto, topped with an olive oil, lemon juice and honey dressing. Just to die for.. 🙂

    I must look out for that brand of palm sugar – thanks for the tip! 🙂

  3. heidi says:

    I would love to pick a fresh fig from a tree- just once in my life- you are right- Divine!
    And I need to try that sugar. Does it work in recipes like cane sugar? I have found many substitutes don’t give the same baking color.
    Great post- thanks for the tour of your favorite things in your kitchen!

    • Heidi, the sugar is quite caramelised and more like brown sugar than white sugar. It is also quite expensive so using it to bake may not a ‘cheap’ substitute if your recipe requires a lot of it.

  4. Shelley says:

    Look at those delicious figs! I love eating them fresh from the tree too. Unfortunately the birds always beat me to the few figs on our little tree…one day I’ll get around to netting it 🙂

    • Hi Shelley, yes I know what you mean you have to be vigilant to keep away those blasted birds !!!! We lost a few as well but ended up putting some net up. We normally don’t worry for such a piddly crop but it has been really worth the effort this year – yippee 🙂

  5. Tandy says:

    I love using palm sugar, but you are right, the shaving it is tedious! I just ordered some red rice so I am looking forward to experimenting with it 🙂

    • Oh excellent. Be interested to know what you think of it. Keep me posted on your ‘experimenting’. Gotta give it a try myself asap. They told me to cook as per normal Basmati, so will see how it goes. We loved the nuttiness (similar to brown rice) when we had it in Sri Lanka.

  6. Pingback: Kadek’s Nasi Goreng | Soul Kitchen Blog

Leave a Reply

