Peter Evans Chicken Larb

Celebrity chef Peter Evans published this recipe in one his cookbooks.  It’s really quick and  tasty and I love it for a light dinner or substantial lunch.  I haven’t actually modified the recipe at all and followed it to the letter, so see above link for Peter’s method and ingredients.

Traditionally from Northern Thailand and Laos, Larb is like a Chinese Sang Choi Bau.  Served with fresh Iceberg lettuce cups, it is healthy and the freshness of all the herbs make the palate sing !  You can make your palate sing AND dance by using extra bird’s eye chilli or Thai green scuds – otherwise just use the long red ones, which will make it mild.

It is even easier to make if you can find free range chicken mince. If not use free range breast pieces and whizz in a food processor.  Once mixed with the cornflour, the chicken will clump so when you are frying try to break up all the lumps.

The only other tip is I make the recipe quantity for two people, even though the recipe stipulates it serves four.   You would be still be pretty hungry if serving four people unless it is part of a banquet of dishes.  It is also worth pointing out we keep the meal low carb and don’t serve steamed rice with it, as they would in Thailand or Laos.

About Soul Kitchen Blog

Welcome to Soul Kitchen Blog. Sure food ultimately is fuel for the body but made with love is so much more and truly nourishes the soul. As cliche as it sounds, life really is too short to eat bad food and drink bad wine. I have a passion for cooking and a love of good food. I am committed to my quest of searching for fabulous recipes that just so happen to be gluten free. In recent years I discovered that I have intolerance to gluten and whilst its changed my eating habits somewhat, I refuse to allow it to limit my choices to eat well or make those that I cook for feel that they are missing out on anything. My mandate is simple... Feed the body and nourish the soul. I look forward to sharing my journey with you ....
This entry was posted in Recipes, Spicy and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Peter Evans Chicken Larb

  1. Christine says:

    Just the recipe that I have been looking for! I will try it tonight.

  2. ange says:

    YUMMY
    Just made this – it was so easy & delicious … and healthy.
    It provided just the right blend of heat & flavour … as good as the one’s I had in Laos & Thailand !

Leave a Reply

