In My Kitchen – December 2011

Due to my travels to Sri Lanka I haven’t done one of these postings (inspired by Fig and Lime Cordial) for a few months. Its been a busy few weeks since we got back. I also visited the Farmers Markets in Wagga Wagga last Saturday so brought back some lovely fresh country produce from Regional NSW.. most of which we devoured on our four hour return trip, so sorry no pics 🙂

In my kitchen..

….I have a million varieties of tea which we purchased in Sri Lanka.  A big favourite from our trip was ginger tea, I drank this every morning as we watched the sunrise on the balcony of our beautiful hotel overlooking the ocean.

In my kitchen..

…I have a couple of traditional Sri Lankan clay cooking pots (called Chatties) which I carried with great care through our travels so that they made it home unbroken.  I take great joy in cooking my curries in these, I’m not sure if it is psychological but they seem to make everything taste better !   If you would like to see the Chatties in action, make sure you tune into chef Peter Kuravita’s TV series on Sri Lanka which is currently screening on SBS and available to download online on the SBS website.  Its a great show and is helping to keep my holiday memories alive.

In my kitchen..

…..like every other Australian household at this time of year, I have fabulous fresh cherries.  These I bought on the roadside near Yass. These are Lapin variety, which are crunchy, sweet and juicy.  We bought 2 kgs sadly, we have eaten the lot already !

In my kitchen..

…are these gorgeous Pistachio nuts, purchased from the Wagga Wagga Farmers Markets.  They cost $20 for 500g, and are the freshest most flavourful Pistachio nuts we’ve ever had.  At the moment I’m treating them like gold, not because of the cost, but due to the fact they are so amazing and I’m not likely to be back in Wagga Wagga for a while.  Not sure what I’m going to do with them yet.  Any suggestions ?

In my kitchen..

….we have these delicious Soy and Honey Cashews (also from Wagga Wagga Farmers Markets).   So morish, once you start, its hard to stop eating them.

In my kitchen…

….I have a new Gluten Free cookbook which I was given in the work Kris Kringle.  It has 1000 recipes which should keep me busy over the Christmas holidays!

So that is for this month and as we head close to Christmas I’m sure many of you also have some wonderful goodies in your kitchen.  Tell me what is happening in yours ?

About Soul Kitchen Blog

Welcome to Soul Kitchen Blog. Sure food ultimately is fuel for the body but made with love is so much more and truly nourishes the soul. As cliche as it sounds, life really is too short to eat bad food and drink bad wine. I have a passion for cooking and a love of good food. I am committed to my quest of searching for fabulous recipes that just so happen to be gluten free. In recent years I discovered that I have intolerance to gluten and whilst its changed my eating habits somewhat, I refuse to allow it to limit my choices to eat well or make those that I cook for feel that they are missing out on anything. My mandate is simple... Feed the body and nourish the soul. I look forward to sharing my journey with you ....
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to In My Kitchen – December 2011

  1. So much treasure in your kitchen this December, thanks for playing! 🙂 I was admiring the chatties on the Peter Kuravita show. We cook all the time in clay, but the modern Emile Henry flame version, and I definitely think the clay makes the food taste better. It must be wonderful to be making curries in the real deal! 🙂

    • Thanks Celia, always fun to join in the IMK share. My Italian friend’s father also swears by glazed terracotta to make Italian tomato sauce. I know you are very keen on your Emile Henry pots. My chatties were a bit of a steal at $3 each !

  2. Hello, thank you for sharing your kitchen. Like Celia, I have been admiring the chatties. I wonder if they can be bought here. There is so much you could do with the pistachios, including ice cream (one of my favourites) and some of the wonderful Middle Eastern slices made with filo. Yum!

    • Hi Lizzy, Thanks for stopping by. Given the number of Sri Lankans here, you’d think clay chatties would be sold in Australia, however I’ve never come across them. I buy my spices from a Sri Lankan grocery store in Flemington called Spiceland. If anyone sold them, I would think they would or will know if they are available somewhere. I’ll have to ask next time I go.

      Given the popularity of celebrity chef endorsements these days, I guess it is only matter of time until Peter Kuravita has his own range Sri Lankan cooking equipment and curry paste !!!

  3. I’ve been loving the Peter Kuravita show as well. Anything slightly Sri Lankan involved and I’m all over it 🙂
    I would love a hopper pan in my kitchen.

    • Hopper pans are easy to find, any Sri Lankan store will most likely have them, but they are hard to make ! I think I’m leaving those to the experts. I’ve posted a few entries on Sri Lanka and Sri Lankan recipes if you are interested. Thanks for stopping by.

  4. Tandy says:

    what a lovely collection of teas! I must say I would use the pistachios to make biscotti – that is if I could stop myself from eating them all 🙂

  5. heidi says:

    You have a treasure store in your kitchen!
    I love pistachio’s in Basmati rice- but I think I would eat those that you have fresh!

Leave a Reply

