In My Kitchen – September 2011

Once again following the lead from Celia @ Fig and Lime Cordial, here’s an update of what is in my Soul Kitchen this month.

In my kitchen..

…..I have a bottle of homemade Limoncello.  This was very easy to make. It is very smooth and perhaps a little too easy to drink !  To make, place 375 ml of vodka and the grated rind from 3 x thin skinned Meyer lemons into a jar and leave to macerate for one month.  Strain off the lemon rind and mix the vodka with 150ml of 1:1 ratio sugar syrup and bottle.  Chill and enjoy in moderation.

By the way, 1:1 sugar syrup means to stir 1 cup sugar into 1 cup of boiling water till the sugar dissolves, pour into a jar or bottle. I always have this in my fridge as it keeps indefinitely and means I can make myself homemade icetea, lime or lemonade .. or fabulous Margahitas at anytime.

……In my kitchen…

…….I have a jar of delicious Pear and Fennel chutney made by my clever friend.  This was A’s very own recipe and her first attempt at making chutney – which was a very impressive attempt.  It’s actually delicious just on a spoon, but will try this soon on a ham and cheese sanga.

…..In my kitchen..

Greek Honey from Kos

……. is a tin of Greek honey from the island of Kos.  Greek honey has the most incredible flavour which I have waxed lyrical about before.   I treasure this tin like gold as I bought it two years ago on during my trip to Greece.  With only 250ml left in the tin, we are now on serious rations.

……In my kitchen

…….is my new favourite appliance, a Sunbeam food saver.  Allowing me to vacuum seal all manner of items, I’m loving it.  I have also discovered, despite what Sunbeam will tell you, that Orved brand bags will work just as well as the Sunbeam variety.

The Orved bags are similar design to the Sunbeam ones, have one side smooth and one side textured and are soooooooooo much cheaper.  I got mine from Catering Equipment at Carlton in Sydney – 100 bags for $25.

…..In my kitchen..

….are purple carrots.  I got these in Coles supermarket last week, which is fantastic. Normally I have to buy them from speciality farmers markets. We love these carrots, grated and steamed on low heat with a little bit of water and a pinch of butter. Leave the lid on and when cooked add a little salt and puree with a stick blender.  More flavoursome than normal carrots. Give them a try grated in salads too.  Just be aware they will stain like raw beetroot.

…..In my kitchen

….is a bottle of liquid Chlorophyll and PH tester strips.  I’m focussing on increasing the alkalinity of our diet for optimum health.  Studies have shown that a diet high in acidity can be one of the major contributing factors in disease and ill health.  The ideal ratio of eating is 80% alkaline and 20% acid forming foods.  Popping a little chlorophyll in our drinking water provides an extra boost of alkalinity but it also tastes good and has a slight hint of mint.

That’s it for this month 🙂 Let me know what is happening in your kitchen …..

About Soul Kitchen Blog

Welcome to Soul Kitchen Blog. Sure food ultimately is fuel for the body but made with love is so much more and truly nourishes the soul. As cliche as it sounds, life really is too short to eat bad food and drink bad wine. I have a passion for cooking and a love of good food. I am committed to my quest of searching for fabulous recipes that just so happen to be gluten free. In recent years I discovered that I have intolerance to gluten and whilst its changed my eating habits somewhat, I refuse to allow it to limit my choices to eat well or make those that I cook for feel that they are missing out on anything. My mandate is simple... Feed the body and nourish the soul. I look forward to sharing my journey with you ....
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to In My Kitchen – September 2011

  1. Shelley says:

    I never realised Lemoncello was that easy to make….I’m totally going to give it a go now! Thanks heaps 🙂

  2. Tandy says:

    thank you for sharing! I love the purple carrots 🙂

    • Thanks Tandy. Yes, aren’t those purple carrots fab. I meant to write in my blog, that apparently carrots were originally purple but the Dutch developed orange ones, and voila, the purples ones faded from popularity. Hopefully we can bring ’em back in vogue!!

  3. Ange says:

    Wow – yet another totally impressive array of ingredients and homemade marvels.
    I’m particularly impressed by your bootleg Limoncello; it seems ridiculously easy (and potentially, highly addictive !).
    I too own a Food Saver and have a slight ‘appliance crush’; it makes food preservation so easy and does away with the inevitable freezer burn that occurs with those run-of-the-mill storage bags.
    And finally, who can go past those purple carrots … I am so going on a fruit & veg exploratory shop this weekend.
    Thanks so much for your really original posts & idea’s … your blog is inspired (and inspirational).

    • Thanks for your support Ange. I haven’t been using tthe vacuum seal bags in the freezer yet. I may have to test with frozen berries, I alwasy find them fall victim to freezer bag. Good luck on the purple carrot hunt !

  4. Karen, thanks for playing! 🙂 I’m intrigued by all the things in your kitchen this month – I’m surprised by how yellow the lemoncello gets just from the lemon rind! We adore our vacuum sealer and use it all the time, although it’s just a cheapie from an online clearance store. I eyed off some really flash ones at the BH&G show last week, but just couldn’t justify the cost!

  5. heidiannie says:

    I am going to make the limoncello! In the US we call sugar syrup, simple syrup, and I always have some in the fridge as well. It is such a great starting point for drinks.
    Your kitchen is full of wonderful goodies- I love those purple carrots!

  6. annyi.smith says:

    hi
    i like your kitchen alot n am ggoing to make and have some.the most I like is your black carrots they were awesum!!!!!!

  7. Great post, I like the Pear and Fennel chutney. It sounds delicious.

  8. Sharon says:

    Would appreciate the recipe for Pear & Fennel chutney have been searching for such a recipe for several years Ta muchly Sharon

Leave a Reply

