Strawberry and Watermelon Cake

This is one of the most divine desserts I’ve ever eaten and I hanker for it all the time, especially if I’m in the vicinity of Newtown (as previously blogged). The flavour combination with its hint of rosewater is an absolute winner.  I warn you it is so moorish, one piece is NEVER enough.

I couldn’t believe my luck that Australian Gourmet Traveller published the recipe earlier this year and I am forever grateful to Black Star Pastry for sharing it with them.  There is a couple of quick steps involved, but all-in-all it is very simple to make.

I bought some fabulous strawberries from the markets last week and decided to forgo the additional pistachio slivers and grapes they used in the topping.  Mine may not have the presentation flare of the Masterchef from Black Star – but I can attest that it certainly tasted just as good and made us do happy dancing around the dining table afterwards 🙂

Couple of quick tips;

a) You may need more cream than stated in the recipe.
b) I found it easier to cut the watermelon very thinly, then on a chopping board trim the melon so that you have it measure the same size as the base.
c) It will keep ok for 24 hours, but the base has the potential to go soggy.  If you need to make the day before I suggest preparing all the elements and then constructing the layers a few hours before serving.

Here’s a couple of pics of the steps in the process.

almond meringue base

cut watermelon to size

create layers and trim edges

About Soul Kitchen Blog

Welcome to Soul Kitchen Blog. Sure food ultimately is fuel for the body but made with love is so much more and truly nourishes the soul. As cliche as it sounds, life really is too short to eat bad food and drink bad wine. I have a passion for cooking and a love of good food. I am committed to my quest of searching for fabulous recipes that just so happen to be gluten free. In recent years I discovered that I have intolerance to gluten and whilst its changed my eating habits somewhat, I refuse to allow it to limit my choices to eat well or make those that I cook for feel that they are missing out on anything. My mandate is simple... Feed the body and nourish the soul. I look forward to sharing my journey with you ....
This entry was posted in Cakes & Sweet Things and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Strawberry and Watermelon Cake

  1. spicegirlfla says:

    Oh my, oh my! I’ve never seen such a dessert…with watermelon! I’m so very excited to try this and especially with the holiday weekend coming up, this will be a perfect ending to summer!

Leave a Reply

