In My Kitchen – August 2011

It was fun last month to follow Celia’s format from Fig and Lime Cordial so I thought I’d do again this month.

…In my kitchen I have some dried Iranian limes.  I got these from a spice shop in Bankstown and they are a very unusual ingredient.  These are used to flavour rice and stews and are like nothing I’ve seen or tasted before.

I used a coffee /spice grinder to make them into a powder as I needed it for Yotam Ottolenghi’s super delicious Quinoa and Rice Salad.  Recipe here.  I made up a Persian inspired marinade for chicken thighs which I baked to have with the salad, but the salad leftovers were just as nice the next day as a Vegetarian dish. Yum.

….In my kitchen I have some Unami No. 5 Paste.  I bought this from Jones the Grocer in Woollahra. I’m not sure what I’m going to use it in but it sounds really interesting, with a list of ingredients that includes Porcini mushrooms, garlic, anchovies and tomato paste. Unami is a Japanese word best translated as savouriness and is classed as the fifth taste sensation (after sweet, sour, salty and bitter).

…In my kitchen I have a gorgeous basket of mandarins given to us from our neighbours tree.  It’s a very old mature tree and the mandies are bright orange, incredibly juicy, thin-skinned but unfortunately sour as all get out !!!  In fact they are like more like lemons so have been using them as juice as they aren’t really edible as a fruit.  They make great juice though, just the trick to keep away the lurgies of winter.

…In my kitchen is my favourite gluten-free pasta, San Remo.  I have most varieties on hand – lasagna, fettucine, penne and spaghetti.  I’ve tried other brands but for me, San Remo is the closest to normal pasta and readily available in every supermarket.

…In my kitchen is my latest road test of cookbooks from my local libary. Especially loving the Rick Stein one, based on his TV show filmed in the Mediterranean.

…In my kitchen is a tin of Altis Extra Virgin Olive Oil. This is a lovely fruit olive oil from Greece.  I love to buy olive oil in tins as it is less oxidised than those bottles that sit in fluro lights on supermarket shelves – and is cheaper in bulk.

…In my kitchen is some millet flour. My local Indian supermarket were giving me instructions on how I could use it to make gluten-free chapatis.  Must have been amusing to watch as both the owner and his daughter where using charades to demonstrate how to get a perfect disc of dough. I have haven’t attempted it yet, but if they work out well, I’ll blog it.

So that’s it for this month.  Let me know what’s interesting in your kitchen this month 🙂

About Soul Kitchen Blog

Welcome to Soul Kitchen Blog. Sure food ultimately is fuel for the body but made with love is so much more and truly nourishes the soul. As cliche as it sounds, life really is too short to eat bad food and drink bad wine. I have a passion for cooking and a love of good food. I am committed to my quest of searching for fabulous recipes that just so happen to be gluten free. In recent years I discovered that I have intolerance to gluten and whilst its changed my eating habits somewhat, I refuse to allow it to limit my choices to eat well or make those that I cook for feel that they are missing out on anything. My mandate is simple... Feed the body and nourish the soul. I look forward to sharing my journey with you ....
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to In My Kitchen – August 2011

  1. What fantastic stuff you have in your kitchen!! Most of them are new to me – I’ve not tried black limes before, although my neighbour uses them in his Persian cooking. I didn’t realise they were so dry you could grind them! And the umami paste – I haven’t been to Jones the Grocer – sounds like it’s time for a drive to Woollahra if they have interesting things like this on the shelves..

    Thanks for joining in again this month, and for the linky! 🙂

    • Hi Celia, IMK Guru..thanks for stopping by. Just to manage your expectations, before hike to Woollahra – other than the Unami No. 5 paste, I don’t recall there was anything else that was new or exciting. Although they do have a great cheese room 🙂

  2. ange says:

    Wow – what a fantastic array of culinary treasures. I’m especially intrigued by the dried Iranian limes; the Ottolenghi rice sounds & looks delicious.

    I can’t wait to see what you’ve discovered, road tested & ‘put on display’ next month !

  3. heidi says:

    I have some of those dried limes- my niece sent them when she was stationed in Iraq. I haven’t gotten up the courage to use them- until now! Thanks for the recipe and the peek into your kitchen. I put up a IMK post, too- just today- I’ve been traveling and not in my kitchen.

    • Hi Heidi, that are very unusual little things, those limes. I think if it wasn’t for the Ottolenghi recipe, I would never have considered trying them either. Give them a go, would love to hear what you did with them. Just checked out your post 🙂

  4. AKGDDM says:

    Hi, I am OK with the Chicken but curious to check the vegetarian dish. I never knew about using an iranian lime as one of the main spice for making an Ottolenghi dish. Its funny you mentioned a Millet flour that you found in Indian Supermarket. This flour is high in fiber and helps you increase body heat. May be you could use this ingredient to either make an Indian version of bread or make it a part of the Vegetarian version of the same dish. Thanks for sharing.

    • Thanks for stopping by. That is interesting you mention about increase in body heat. The shop keeper was telling me that millet as well as being good for digestion, is good for the spine….but I’m not quite sure what he meant by that !!!! I definitely plan on giving it a go to make Indian flat bread.

  5. Pingback: Ottolenghi’s Saffron and Cardamon Pears | Soul Kitchen Blog

Leave a Reply

