Cauliflower Gratin


There is a little bit of retro associated with this dish. I think its been kind of been lost in recent years….except in bain maries in RSL club bistros across the country.  I’m bringing it back!  Done right Cauliflower Gratin really is a superb accompaniment to a roast dinner.

My version doesn’t use flour based Bechamel sauce, instead it is made in the French tradition using cream.  Preferably use Gruyère or Emmental if you can, but secretly I have also made with Greek Kefalograviera cheese and it worked just as well.

For a variation, add a small potato, chopped into cubes and scattered raw amongst the cauliflower (as I have done in this pic below).  This way you get double joy – Cauliflower AND Potato Gratin.

INGREDIENTS

1 small head of cauliflower, cut into florets
1 bay leaf
300ml thickened cream
1 egg
1 tsp Dijon mustard
Sea Salt

METHOD

1. Heat the thickened cream in a small saucepan and simmer gently for about 10mins.  Allow to cool slightly.

2. Meanwhile while the cream is cooking, put cauliflower, bay leaf and a good pinch sea salt into saucepan with water and bring to the boil. Cook until the cauliflower is just tender. Drain and remove bay leaf.

3. Grease an oven proof dish with butter and place the cauliflower into the dish.

3. Beat the egg and mustard together and then mix into the warm cream. Add 1 tsp sea salt and stir quickly.  Pour cream over the cauliflower.  Make sure the cauliflower is well covered.

4. Grate over the cheese and bake at 180C for 45 mins until golden brown.

Serves 4

About Soul Kitchen Blog

Welcome to Soul Kitchen Blog. Sure food ultimately is fuel for the body but made with love is so much more and truly nourishes the soul. As cliche as it sounds, life really is too short to eat bad food and drink bad wine. I have a passion for cooking and a love of good food. I am committed to my quest of searching for fabulous recipes that just so happen to be gluten free. In recent years I discovered that I have intolerance to gluten and whilst its changed my eating habits somewhat, I refuse to allow it to limit my choices to eat well or make those that I cook for feel that they are missing out on anything. My mandate is simple... Feed the body and nourish the soul. I look forward to sharing my journey with you ....
This entry was posted in Fruit & Vegetables, Recipes, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cauliflower Gratin

  1. Tandy says:

    I love the use of the cream and Dijon mustard – I have to give it a go 🙂

Leave a Reply

