In My Kitchen, July 2011

I love reading Fig and Lime Cordial’s monthly blog instalment of “In My Kitchen”.  So I’ve decided to do my own after encouragement by Celia (the author) for her readers to do so. Here goes…….

In my kitchen….

……I have a packet of gluten-free French style crepes.  These are fantastic to have on hand to whip up chicken & mushroom crepes or spinach & ricotta crepes.

In my kitchen….

…..I have some lovely Murray River salt flakes.  I’ve converted to using the Australian stuff instead of Maldon.

In my kitchen….

…..I have some freshly picked mandarins from our tree.  I prefer to pick and eat them straight from the tree but the birds have been tucking into our crop lately so we had to pick them in batches instead of daily as we need them.

In my kitchen….

……is some fantastic Japanese soy sauce, which I bought from Tokyo Mart in Northbridge.  Very authentic and a fine subtle flavour.

In my kitchen….

…..are a selection of cookbooks I got from my local library.  I adore reading cookbooks and borrowing from the library means I can road test before I purchase.

In my kitchen….

…I have my home-made preserved lime and lemons.  These are now matured and ready to use and I am very very happy with how they turned out !  I’m destined never to buy commercially prepared ones again 🙂

In my kitchen….

…I have a newly purchased fire blanket.  I saw this whilst standing in the queue at the Post Office and thought it seemed rather auspicious that I had been thinking only a few days before we really should have a fire blanket in the house.  I keep it on top of the fridge for easy access .. and over the recommended distance of 1 metre from stove.

In my kitchen…

…I have some gluten-free chicken stock. I got The Stock Merchant brand from IGA. It is a little more expensive ($9.50 for 500m) but is made from free range chickens so thought it worth trying.


So that’s it, my first ‘in my kitchen’.

Tell me what is happening in your kitchen this month….

About Soul Kitchen Blog

Welcome to Soul Kitchen Blog. Sure food ultimately is fuel for the body but made with love is so much more and truly nourishes the soul. As cliche as it sounds, life really is too short to eat bad food and drink bad wine. I have a passion for cooking and a love of good food. I am committed to my quest of searching for fabulous recipes that just so happen to be gluten free. In recent years I discovered that I have intolerance to gluten and whilst its changed my eating habits somewhat, I refuse to allow it to limit my choices to eat well or make those that I cook for feel that they are missing out on anything. My mandate is simple... Feed the body and nourish the soul. I look forward to sharing my journey with you ....
This entry was posted in Gluten Free Products and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to In My Kitchen, July 2011

  1. Wonderful! Thank you so much for joining it! I’ve been tempted by that chicken stock too, but opted to make my own from free range chook bones in the end. Plenty is a fabulous cookbook, but I haven’t seen that one by Manu before, so I’ll be looking out for it. And loooove your preserved lemons, my batch is nearly ready too – you’ve just reminded me to go check on them! 🙂

    • Hi Celia, thanks for popping across to check out my kitchen. I agree, home made stock is much so cheaper and better, but sometimes I just find that life’s too short to make my own stock ! Plus it takes up lots of space in the freezer. Since I wrote, I’ve had good squizz of Manu’s book and really like it. There are loads of things I want to make… groan … looks like another cookbook I want to add to my library ! I’ve seen some of your blogs mentioning Plenty, so I’m sure I’m going to love that too !!! Cheers,

  2. theonlycin says:

    I am fascinated by the different products we get to see with Celia’s monthly In My Kitchen. Thanks for sharing yours.

  3. heidi says:

    Hi! I followed you over from Celia’s blog- thanks for a look into your kitchen!
    I love the preserved lemons and limes- I’ve been planning on doing this rather than buying small jars- but I get too busy doing other things and forget! I am putting the preserving on a priority list as of now!
    The kitchen blanket is such a good idea- I haven’t seen one here in the USA, but then again, I haven’t even thought of looking!:)
    Cheers!

    • HI Heidi, thanks for popping into my kitchen.

      Yes, you must make those preserved lemons/limes…I’d had them on my list of things to do for a while and they really couldn’t have been easier. You might like to check out my blog as I road tested two recipes with them… One with honey and spices and one with just salt. Both were great, but decided the honey and spices version was the winner.

      Good luck finding a kitchen blanket, I’m sure you’ll find one easily in a hardware shop. Was quite weird that I found mine in the Post Office 🙂

  4. Sally says:

    Agree with Celia that Plenty is a wonderful book – but great idea to road test via the library first. LOVE preserved lemons and limes – such an excellent thing to have in a kitchen. I’m in someone else’s kitchen this month! 🙂

    • Hi Sally, Yep, if it wasn’t for the library, I’d think I’d own just about every cookbook on the market – and half of them I wouldn’t end up using. This way I can be sure I will actually make things from it before I hand over my $$. Thanks for taking the time to write, cheers,

  5. Jan says:

    just popped in to have a look – found you via Celias site – I too have my lemons ready to be checked, have also just been doing the pickled onions for himself – look yummo – well done will follow with much interest – Jan – NZ

Leave a Reply

