Creamy Vegetable Soup

Many years ago I lived in Geelong, Victoria and there was Swiss woman serving the best vegetable soup I’ve ever eaten out of a small hole in the wall shop.

Over the time I lived there, I tried to pry the ingredients from owner/cook, but she insisted she didn’t do anything special.  She used whatever vegetables she had on hand and didn’t really measure the quantities. Sometimes she used bread crusts to thicken it, sometimes she didn’t. One day, however she let slip that she used some herbal seasoning that she got from Switzerland.  Ahhhhhhhh, so there it was – a secret ingredient.

Not long after I moved from Geelong, but I continued to try to replicate my own version of the soup but without those secret Swiss herbs, it was never going to be the same.

One day, I noticed Herbamare seasoning in the supermarket and saw that it was devised by a Swiss man, A.Vogel.   I thought this perhaps this could do the trick and I am happy to report it has allowed me to ALMOST re-create the magic.

This soup is smooth and silky and so delicious. Quick and easy to prepare, with all those vegetables, it is also really healthy.

There is no need for stock or additional salt/pepper thanks to the 4tsp of Herbamare seasoning. Its 100% vegetarian, although, you could use chicken stock to add another dimension to the flavour if you prefer.

I recommend adding the cream in as you serve as the soup will keep longer without adding it directly to the pot.

INGREDIENTS

1 large onion
2 leeks
1 swede
1 parsnip
1 large carrot
1 medium size Desiree potato
1 kg pumpkin
2 stalks celery + celery leaves
50g butter
2 litres water
4 tsp Herbamare Swiss seasoning
cream or creme fraiche to serve

METHOD

1.  Cut all the vegetables into an even size dice (about 1cm cubes) and put all vegetables (except celery leaves) into a large saucepan.

2. Add the  butter to the vegetables and on medium heat, stirring constantly to melt the butter.  Add the Herbamare seasoning and sweat the vegetables. Continue stirring until you can see the vegetables are softening (about 5 mins).

3. Add the water to the vegetables and throw in the celery leaves.  Cover and bring to the boil.  Reduce the heat and simmer gently for about 20minis. Turn off the heat and leave for 10mins.

4. Remove the celery leaves, and then using a stick blender (Bamix), blend the vegetables to a smooth puree.

5. Add a tsp cream or creme fraiche to serve.

Makes approx 2 litres

About Soul Kitchen Blog

Welcome to Soul Kitchen Blog. Sure food ultimately is fuel for the body but made with love is so much more and truly nourishes the soul. As cliche as it sounds, life really is too short to eat bad food and drink bad wine. I have a passion for cooking and a love of good food. I am committed to my quest of searching for fabulous recipes that just so happen to be gluten free. In recent years I discovered that I have intolerance to gluten and whilst its changed my eating habits somewhat, I refuse to allow it to limit my choices to eat well or make those that I cook for feel that they are missing out on anything. My mandate is simple... Feed the body and nourish the soul. I look forward to sharing my journey with you ....
This entry was posted in Soup, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

