Nourishing Quarter, Redfern

Look for a dining experience that is completely different, delicious and has soul?  The Nourishing Quarter in Redfern is just that.

I have been seeing a few reviews lately about a great new cafe/restaurant that serves up lots of gluten-free options so was very keen to give it a try.

What I didn’t expect or realise as I dragged my meat-loving partner E to lunch, was that the menu was totally Vegetarian.    I obviously didn’t read those reviews closely enough! Anyway, we decided we’ve been wanting to incorporate more vegetables into our life so quite happily scoured the unusual menu.

On the front of the menu they describe the food as South American / Asian.  It is actually more Vietnamese, but the South American inclusion is due mostly to the fact that the grain quinoa is in just about every dish.

Speaking to the lovely owner/chef Tien, she tells us that she fell in love with quinoa and have found it very beneficial for those people that are on special diets.   Tien’s passion for her restaurant and her delightful food was really touching and we loved that she took time to come out of the kitchen to talk to her patrons.

So to the food.  Sorry I didn’t have my camera so no pictures.  We had some lovely Angel rolls, which were fresh rice paper Vietnamese spring rolls – but with ingredients that included chia seeds .  I had a really interesting quinoa congee which was flavoursome and so healthy.   E had a NQ Humble Pie, which he deemed delicious, but wished the portion was a little bigger.

All the meals we saw come out to other tables, looked fantastic.  Next time I’ll be trying the san choi bau and the corn fritters.

Situated on Cleveland Street, almost opposite the Argentinian restaurant Porteno, Nourishing Quarter is a tiny little place right next to the Norfolk Hotel.  Decorated in a very quirky style which is one part retro and one part antique shop, its a style I’ve come to see quite frequently in eateries around buzzy Redfern / Surry Hills.

Apparently due to the recent press, NQ has started to get busier, so it may be worth pre-booking especially if you plan on going for dinner.

Here’s a link to the website

Nourishing Quarter
315 Cleveland St, Redfern
02 8399 0888

 

About Soul Kitchen Blog

Welcome to Soul Kitchen Blog. Sure food ultimately is fuel for the body but made with love is so much more and truly nourishes the soul. As cliche as it sounds, life really is too short to eat bad food and drink bad wine. I have a passion for cooking and a love of good food. I am committed to my quest of searching for fabulous recipes that just so happen to be gluten free. In recent years I discovered that I have intolerance to gluten and whilst its changed my eating habits somewhat, I refuse to allow it to limit my choices to eat well or make those that I cook for feel that they are missing out on anything. My mandate is simple... Feed the body and nourish the soul. I look forward to sharing my journey with you ....
This entry was posted in Dining Out and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Nourishing Quarter, Redfern

  1. Tracey says:

    Thanks for this review – I’ve kept your recommendation on Evernote and finally got to NQ last night. Took along a particularly fussy veggie friend and we both LOVED our meals. Quirky as well – when we asked for the tea menu, our waitress brought out all the teas they’re currently serving so we could examine and inhale the flavors. Very good.

    • Hi there Tracey, thanks for writing in and letting me know. I’m really glad to hear you and your friend enjoyed it. The staff are so adorable, that’s really sweeto tbring out the teas for you to examine. I love their passion and commitment. FYI – I saw a review from Terry Durack, SMH Good Living recently and he was also very complimentary. I must get back there myself again soon. Cheers,

Leave a Reply

