Bircher Museli, my way

This came about many years ago when I decided to omit the oats from the recipe because I hadn’t soaked them overnight in orange juice.  I have never looked back.

Now that I’m gluten intolerant I couldn’t have the oats in it, even if I wanted to !  This is such a delicious breakfast and you can feel the goodness in every mouthful.

It’s a very forgiving recipe, you can vary all the ingredients to whatever you have on hand and add more or less depending on your preferences.

You can vary the type of nuts if you wish, but I prefer hazelnuts, almonds and/or pistachio. As for apples Granny Smith, Golden Delicious, even a Fuji will work well.  I don’t usually peel the apple and just grate it with the skin on – its more nutritious to keep the skin on, just make sure you wash the apple well first.

With so many variables, I love to change the ingredients so that it never gets boring.

Ingredients per person

1 grated apple
1 tblspn flaked almonds
1 tblspn shredded coconut or sunflower seeds
2 dried peaches (or apricots or prunes) chopped
1 tsp honey (or more to taste)
2 heaped tblspn plain Greek yoghurt
*small squeeze of fresh orange juice (optional)
fresh fruit and a scattering of hazelnuts or pistachio on top

Method

1. Mix the ingredients in a bowl.  You can leave the honey to drizzle on top at the end and put mix through with the other ingredients.

2. Top with fresh fruit… ie mixed berries, kiwi fruit, strawberries, pomegranate or banana

3. Top with some additional nuts (hazelnuts or pistachio)



About Soul Kitchen Blog

Welcome to Soul Kitchen Blog. Sure food ultimately is fuel for the body but made with love is so much more and truly nourishes the soul. As cliche as it sounds, life really is too short to eat bad food and drink bad wine. I have a passion for cooking and a love of good food. I am committed to my quest of searching for fabulous recipes that just so happen to be gluten free. In recent years I discovered that I have intolerance to gluten and whilst its changed my eating habits somewhat, I refuse to allow it to limit my choices to eat well or make those that I cook for feel that they are missing out on anything. My mandate is simple... Feed the body and nourish the soul. I look forward to sharing my journey with you ....
This entry was posted in Breakfast, Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

