My Sweet Life in Paris

I have a new obsession.  It is called David Lebovitz.  It started when I made his salted caramel ice-cream and then discovered his recipe for chocolate brownies.  It then moved to his book dedicated to AMAZING ice-cream recipes called The Perfect Scoop.  The obsession has now manifested in his tome about life in Paris.

My Sweet Life in Paris is very entertaining and sprinkled with some hilarious anecdotes on the French and their way of life.  There is some laugh out loud stories including a classic on his grocery shopping experiences and one about the moment he realised he was a Parisienne !  After each chapter David shares a recipe and everthing I’ve made has been a winner (there is a few that are gluten free).

One of the things I made from the book was David’s version of Oven Baked Pork Ribs.

Yum!  These were great – taste better than they look.  I can’t share the recipe as I didn’t adapt the recipe and can’t find the recipe online to give you the link.  Suffice to say, you might have to buy the book!

I’ve now signed up for David’s blogs and every day (or second day), I’m whisked away somewhere wonderful hearing about his food adventures…be it an open air market in Switzerland, a cheese sensation called Malakoff or getting the lowdown on Caramel and Cheese Popcorn from a store in Chicago – which, yeah I know, sounds a bizarre combination, but apparently there is a cult following for it (which includes Oprah).

Reading David’s blog makes me want to get on a plane immediately !

Au revoir !

About Soul Kitchen Blog

Welcome to Soul Kitchen Blog. Sure food ultimately is fuel for the body but made with love is so much more and truly nourishes the soul. As cliche as it sounds, life really is too short to eat bad food and drink bad wine. I have a passion for cooking and a love of good food. I am committed to my quest of searching for fabulous recipes that just so happen to be gluten free. In recent years I discovered that I have intolerance to gluten and whilst its changed my eating habits somewhat, I refuse to allow it to limit my choices to eat well or make those that I cook for feel that they are missing out on anything. My mandate is simple... Feed the body and nourish the soul. I look forward to sharing my journey with you ....
This entry was posted in Mind Food, Travel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Sweet Life in Paris

  1. Pingback: Fromage Blanc Souffle | Soul Kitchen Blog

  2. Very interesting!
    I like your way to live life & explain it briefly .
    Awesome keep it up!

Leave a Reply

