Coq au Vin

An absolute French classic!  My recipe differs to the usual recipe by its method and the fact I’ve made it gluten free.  It packs a flavour punch and is just the thing on a cold rainy day to warm the cockles of your heart.

To save time and mess in cleaning up chicken fat splatters around my kitchen bench, I’ve taken to grilling the chicken.  Its also a more health concious method as the chicken fat renders out instead of frying in olive oil.

Additionally instead of thickening with flour, I have used carrot puree.  This is inspired by the fabulous Beef Bourguignon that I’ve blogged about previously.  By all means experiment, you could also use sweet potato.

You can joint a whole chicken, or use pieces as I have done.  Just make sure chicken is free range.  I used gluten free chicken stock, a premium variety that comes in a tetra pack.

This recipe freezes really well, in fact the flavour improves and be easily reheated on your stove top in a saucepan.

INGREDIENTS

Chicken pieces, (6 legs, 6 thighs, skin on)
1 tblspn olive oil
12 french shallots, peeled
5 rashers free range bacon rashers, chopped
400g mushrooms (I use Swiss brown), stalks removed
2 sticks of celery, cut in half
1 spring sage
6 bay leaves
6 springs thyme
500ml red wine
250-500ml chicken stock
4 carrots, cooked and pureed

METHOD

1. Place chicken under the grill and cook until skin is golden. Turn regularly and keep a watch, so they don’t burn.

2. Meanwhile, place bacon, celery and shallots in a large pan and fry until cooked. Remove bacon and continue cooking shallots if they haven’t caramelised.

3. Add mushrooms to the pan and until they are browned.  Remove the mushrooms from pan and set aside.

4. Return the shallots, bacon and add the chicken to the pan. Deglaze with red wine (use a wooden spoon to stir and remove any cooked bits on the bottom of the pan).

5. Add in stock – you will need to add enough stock so that the liquid covers the chicken.

6. Tie the herbs together with some string into a bundle and drop into the pot.  Give a good grind of pepper.  I also like to add the celery leaves to the pan whilst cooking.

7. Bring to the boil and reduce heat to a slow simmer.  Return the mushrooms to the pot and cover pot with the lid.

8. Simmer for around 45 mins and add the carrot puree to thicken.  Check for seasoning although the bacon should be enough to ensure its salty enough.  Cook for another 15mins so that the liquid has thickened.

9. Serve with mash potato, polenta, potato gratin, or as I have done here, with thinly sliced potatoes baked with a little olive oil until brown.  Freezes in portions or serve immediately with a good glass of red.

Serves 6.

About Soul Kitchen Blog

Welcome to Soul Kitchen Blog. Sure food ultimately is fuel for the body but made with love is so much more and truly nourishes the soul. As cliche as it sounds, life really is too short to eat bad food and drink bad wine. I have a passion for cooking and a love of good food. I am committed to my quest of searching for fabulous recipes that just so happen to be gluten free. In recent years I discovered that I have intolerance to gluten and whilst its changed my eating habits somewhat, I refuse to allow it to limit my choices to eat well or make those that I cook for feel that they are missing out on anything. My mandate is simple... Feed the body and nourish the soul. I look forward to sharing my journey with you ....
This entry was posted in Meat, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

