Corn and Zucchini Fritters

Corn fritters for breakfast with bacon and tomato relish are popular choice on menus when dining out for breakfast.  But making them at home couldn’t quicker or simpler!

I thought I’d combine with zucchini and make my own gluten free version.  You can could also have these as a light lunch with a green salad and avocado.

I’ve served mine with herb yoghurt but for your own cafe experience, you could serve with BLTA ie Bacon, Lettuce (rocket) Tomato relish or roasted tomatoes and Avocado.

INGREDIENTS

1 egg
¼ cup plain flour (I use White Wings GF flour)
1 tsp baking powder (GF)
Grated rind from half a lemon
1 zucchini, grated
1 cob of corn, kernels removed
1 tblspn finely chopped mint
1 tblspn cream
¼ cup grated parmesan cheese
1 cube of marinated Meredith goats cheese (alternatively use feta cheese 2cm sq)

Oil for frying (I used Rice Bran)

Herb Yoghurt
2 tblspn Greek style yoghurt
1 splash olive oil
1 pinch of sea salt
1 tblspn fresh herbs (dill, coriander, or mint)

METHOD

1. Combine all the ingredients into a bowl.

2. Drop tablespoons into hot oil in a fry pan and cook until golden brown.

3. Remove from pan when cooked and drain on absorbent paper.

4. Keep fritters warm in the oven whilst you cook all the fritters.

5. Mix 1/2 cup of yoghurt with a sprinkle of sea salt and a slurp of olive oil and chopped dill (or mint, coriander or basil).

6. Serve fritters with herb yoghurt on the side.

Serves 2

About Soul Kitchen Blog

Welcome to Soul Kitchen Blog. Sure food ultimately is fuel for the body but made with love is so much more and truly nourishes the soul. As cliche as it sounds, life really is too short to eat bad food and drink bad wine. I have a passion for cooking and a love of good food. I am committed to my quest of searching for fabulous recipes that just so happen to be gluten free. In recent years I discovered that I have intolerance to gluten and whilst its changed my eating habits somewhat, I refuse to allow it to limit my choices to eat well or make those that I cook for feel that they are missing out on anything. My mandate is simple... Feed the body and nourish the soul. I look forward to sharing my journey with you ....
This entry was posted in Breakfast, Fruit & Vegetables, Recipes, Vegetarian and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Corn and Zucchini Fritters

  1. Ange says:

    Yet another yummy installation from the Soul Kitchen – you really do lift my foodie spirits !

    These were easy to make and soooo delicious. I made a couple of small changes [due to my forgetful nature] – I overlooked adding lemon rind to the mixture, but thought I’d compensate by adding lemon juice into the yoghurt, which was quite nice actually – gave a bit of bite.

    I also grated some haloumi into the mixture, as I happened to have some on hand and thought it would add some nice saltiness – which it did; pleasantly so.

    So yet another manageable & tasty triumph for dinner; this too goes into my menu rotation.

    Keep up the fabulous work … love your recipes and insights.

  2. Michelle says:

    Oh these were delicious for breakfast today and yes, so quick and easy to make (and easy to clean up afterwards too). Thanks so much for a lovely soulful start to the day.

Leave a Reply

