Chestnut Gnocchi

Finally…a gluten free gnocchi that has made me sing !  In fact, I would happily eat this over normal wheat flour varieties.  Now I know the saying, self praise is no recommendation and forgive me while I gloat but I’m just so happy to be able to a find a decent gnocchi again after a long hiatus due to my gluten free diet.

I was inspired to used chestnut flour after discovering Fig and Lime Cordial’s fabulous version of a chocolate brownie recipe by David Lebovitz.  These brownies melt in your mouth and are one of the best I’ve ever had (gluten free or not).  Here’s the link

Anyway, having such great success using chestnut flour in the brownies, I immediately started to consider what other recipes I could use it in.   The natural place to start was my dessert recipes but yesterday it came into my head to try it with gnocchi.

My favourite way to enjoy gnocchi is burnt butter with sage, and thought this would compliment the chestnut flavour best.  I’m not sure how this would go with a tomato based sauce, but I’m sure this would be delicious with a creamy gorgonzola type sauce.

I decided to panfry the gnocchi lightly in the butter and this created a slight crust on the gnocchi – it really enhanced the dish as they caramelised slightly and tasted like little soft pillows of roasted chestnut.

I basically followed the technique I used for normal gnocchi and substituted the wheat flour for chestnut.

My chief taster is away from home at the moment, so although this recipe serves two,  I confess I loved these so much I ate the lot myself !!!!  See what you missed out on my darling E.

INGREDIENTS

300g desiree potatoes (or royal blue if you can find them)
approx 60g chestnut flour
½ egg yolk (about 1 tsp)

50g butter
grated parmesan cheese
8 sage leaves

1.  Cook the potatoes (without peeling them) until cooked when tested with a skewer.

2. Remove the skin from the potatoes and put through a potato ricer (or a mouli).  Spread out the potatoes on the chopping board to cool.

3. When cool, push the potatoes into a little mound and cut into four.  Take out one of the quarters from the mound.

4. Using about half the flour (30-40g), place the flour into the gap, to reconstruct the mound into its conical shape.   Return the other quarter of potato back into the mound.

5. Add the egg to the top of the mound. Knead the egg, flour and potato lightly until it all comes together. You may need to add a little more flour if it seems too wet.

6. Heat water into a large saucepan. Meanwhile whilst the water comes to the boil, make the gnocchi.

7.  Spread some of the remaining flour on the bench and cut portions of the dough and roll the portion into cigars.

7. Chop the cigars into small gnocchi and sprinkle the gnocchi with more flour.

8. Once the water is gently simmering (not boiling) add a good handful of salt to the water.  A rolling boil can break up the gnocchi so make sure the water is just simmering gently.

9. You need to cook in small batches (about 10 at a time). Shake excess flour off the gnocchi using a sieve.

10. Drop the gnocchi into the simmering water and remove with a slotted spoon onto a plate as soon as the gnocchi rise to the surface and set aside as you cook the rest.

11. Once all the gnocchi are cooked, melt butter into a frypan over medium heat. When the butter is foaming add in the gnocchi and lightly pan fry for a minute or two until they form a little bit of a crust.   Remove the gnocchi onto the serving plate.

11. Add the sage leaves into the butter and continue cooking the butter until it turns brown and you can see little specks of dark brown in the butter.  Meanwhile, sprinkle grated cheese over the gnocchi.

12. Pour the burnt butter and sage leaves over the gnocchi, and serve immediately.

Serves 2.

About Soul Kitchen Blog

Welcome to Soul Kitchen Blog. Sure food ultimately is fuel for the body but made with love is so much more and truly nourishes the soul. As cliche as it sounds, life really is too short to eat bad food and drink bad wine. I have a passion for cooking and a love of good food. I am committed to my quest of searching for fabulous recipes that just so happen to be gluten free. In recent years I discovered that I have intolerance to gluten and whilst its changed my eating habits somewhat, I refuse to allow it to limit my choices to eat well or make those that I cook for feel that they are missing out on anything. My mandate is simple... Feed the body and nourish the soul. I look forward to sharing my journey with you ....
This entry was posted in Italian, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Chestnut Gnocchi

  1. Good for you! Your gnocchi sounds delicious, I’m glad you found a use for the rest of the chestnut flour (apart from the 40g in the brownies..hahaha). Thanks for the link! 🙂

  2. Pingback: My Sweet Life in Paris | Soul Kitchen Blog

Leave a Reply

