Maldive Fish Chips

I’m sure you will get a nice dish without using them, but Maldive Fish Chips are probably the most unique and essential ingredient in Sri Lankan cooking and as far as I’m concerned can’t be omitted.

I’ve heard that bonito flakes could be used as a substitute however I can’t attest to this.  They are funny like things, like bits of wood chips, they impart a peculiar salty, fishy flavour in a similar way for example that fish sauce does to Vietnamese or shrimp paste does to Malaysian .

To buy them, you’ll need to locate a Sri Lankan grocery store.  If you are in Sydney, I buy mine from Spiceland at Flemington, which is also the place I buy my all my spices from.

Sometimes you might find the fish chips are quite big (as you can see from this photo), therefore give them a quick whizz in your spice grinder or mini food processor to make them a bit smaller.

About Soul Kitchen Blog

Welcome to Soul Kitchen Blog. Sure food ultimately is fuel for the body but made with love is so much more and truly nourishes the soul. As cliche as it sounds, life really is too short to eat bad food and drink bad wine. I have a passion for cooking and a love of good food. I am committed to my quest of searching for fabulous recipes that just so happen to be gluten free. In recent years I discovered that I have intolerance to gluten and whilst its changed my eating habits somewhat, I refuse to allow it to limit my choices to eat well or make those that I cook for feel that they are missing out on anything. My mandate is simple... Feed the body and nourish the soul. I look forward to sharing my journey with you ....
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Maldive Fish Chips

  1. Tomás Dietz says:

    RE: Maldive Fish Chips:
    Can you suggest how to use this product? I’m on the Paleo method of eating and this looks like an excellent pantry item. Thanks 🙂

    • Hi Tomas, other than in Sri Lankan dishes I’m not sure of any other uses. You may like to check out the Sri Lankan dishes in my blog – like the beetroot and okra, both of these are Paleo diet friendly I think 🙂

      • Tomás Dietz says:

        Thank you. I’m guessing I can sprinkle it into stews and stir fries, and soups. Maybe even add it to rice dishes such as pilaff/kedgeree?
        So I experimented yesterday and added a couple of spoonsful to some stir fried leafy green vegetable with onion flakes and a bit of creamed coconut paste – it was quite delicious. I notice it’s quite salty already.
        I’ll check out the beetroot stir fry now.

        Cheers 🙂

      • Hi again – yes think you could add to rice dishes, but not sure if it would go in stews. also check out my Sri Lankan potato stir fry, it’s yum 🙂

Leave a Reply

