Makaronopita – Greek Pasta Pie

What seems like macaroni and cheese, is in fact …… Greek macaroni and cheese!  Coming from Maria Benardis,  in her book My Greek Family Table, this recipe was handed down to Maria from her Aunt Stavroula.  Maria runs Greek cooking classes, see her website here

This is a traditional pasta pie, which in some regions of Greece is encased in pastry.  Quick easy to make, its also vegetarian.    Maria’s recipe uses the Greek cheese, Kefalotiri, however I only had parmesan in the fridge so used that instead.  I used an authentic Greek feta that’s made of sheep and goat’s milk.

You can use any type of pasta – spaghetti, penne, or macaroni.  I always use San Remo gluten free pasta for perfect taste and results.  The danger with cooking GF pasta it can easily be over or under cooked.  Just make sure you cook the pasta in lots of water and salt and you’ll need to keep testing it to catch it at the right time.

I’ve adapted the recipe as follows:

INGREDIENTS

3 eggs
200ml thickened cream
cracked pepper
50g fresh ricotta, crumbled
50g Greek feta, crumbled
50g hard yellow cheese, grated (parmesan, pecorino, or Greek variety)
60g gluten free pasta
ground nutmeg

METHOD

1. Cook pasta until just tender

2. Mix eggs and cream together.  Add in the cheeses and a good grind of black pepper.

3. Add in the cooked pasta and stir through quickly.

4. Pour mixture into a baking dish that has been brushed with olive oil. Sprinkle a little ground nutmeg over the top.

5. Bake at 180c until golden brown.  About 30-40mins.

Serve with steamed spinach or green salad or as side dish with BBQ or Greek banquet. I think it tastes better the next day and serve it slightly warm – not hot.

Serves 2.

About Soul Kitchen Blog

Welcome to Soul Kitchen Blog. Sure food ultimately is fuel for the body but made with love is so much more and truly nourishes the soul. As cliche as it sounds, life really is too short to eat bad food and drink bad wine. I have a passion for cooking and a love of good food. I am committed to my quest of searching for fabulous recipes that just so happen to be gluten free. In recent years I discovered that I have intolerance to gluten and whilst its changed my eating habits somewhat, I refuse to allow it to limit my choices to eat well or make those that I cook for feel that they are missing out on anything. My mandate is simple... Feed the body and nourish the soul. I look forward to sharing my journey with you ....
This entry was posted in Greek, Recipes, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

