Lime & Mint Cocktail

On a hot summer day (…..stay tuned folks, we STILL might have one of these some time soon in Sydney) a refreshing iced cocktail can really hit the spot.

Last year on a trip to Bali, after a long walk about town in hot and steamy conditions, I had a delicously refreshing lime & mint cocktail from Three Monkeys in Ubud.

This cute little cafe, rather unassuming hid the garden area out back overlooking a rice paddy.

As we sat down and enjoyed the peace from the garden and some very good spring rolls with peanut sauce and Nasi Goreng, what struck me about the fruit juice was that the flavours literally zing around your tongue and I instantly felt revived.

Anyway, I’ve successfully recreated this at home…I just need a hot summer’s day now to go with it !

Ingredients

Juice from 2 limes
1 handful of icecubes
1-2 tblspns of sugar syrup (see below)
8-10 mint leaves

– Bung everything into a blender (that is strong enough to handle crushing the ice) and blend well, until the mint is pulverised and you can see the mix is bright green.

– taste and add in a bit more sugar syrup if you think it needs it

Sugar Syrup

I always have this on hand in the fridge so that I can make cocktails or iced tea at a moments notice.

Put one cup of water and 1 cup of sugar into a saucepan and stir until sugar has dissolved.  Put into a glass bottle and keep in your fridge (will keep for months).

About Soul Kitchen Blog

Welcome to Soul Kitchen Blog. Sure food ultimately is fuel for the body but made with love is so much more and truly nourishes the soul. As cliche as it sounds, life really is too short to eat bad food and drink bad wine. I have a passion for cooking and a love of good food. I am committed to my quest of searching for fabulous recipes that just so happen to be gluten free. In recent years I discovered that I have intolerance to gluten and whilst its changed my eating habits somewhat, I refuse to allow it to limit my choices to eat well or make those that I cook for feel that they are missing out on anything. My mandate is simple... Feed the body and nourish the soul. I look forward to sharing my journey with you ....
This entry was posted in Beverages, Recipes, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Lime & Mint Cocktail

  1. Pingback: Preserved Limes and Lemons | Soul Kitchen Blog

  2. justine says:

    Just been to Ubud and had this amazing ,refreshing drink and decided to look it up on the internet to see how they made it. and this is when i came upon your blog. Thanks for sharing this recipe and i can’t wait to try it out. Also had an amazing meal at Three Monkeys

Leave a Reply

