Caramelised Onion Quiche

Firstly I admit, Quiche with home made flaky shortcrust pastry is always going to taste the best, but for those following a gluten free diet or who can’t be bothered making pastry, I think you’ll be happy with this variation.  Its also a healthier and its a little more substantial than the pastry version and re-heats in a microwave without any threat of a soggy base!

You can use the rice base and then fill with any of your favourite Quiche fillings, including the traditional Lorraine (cheese and bacon) or Spinach.

I’ve found it easier to bake in a pie dish than a flan tray with fluted edges.

I’ve used white rice, but brown rice would work really well too and is a healthier option.  By all means, reduce the calories further by using light cream if you wish.

Base

Cook up 1 cup of rice and let it cool.

Mix one beaten egg and 1/4 cup of parmesan cheese to the cooked rice and spread out evenly into a greased pie dish. Cook the base until slightly golden in a 180C oven for 15 mins until firm.

Filling

1 bunch of spinach cooked and chopped finely
2 brown onions, cooked in olive oil for about 20mins until caramelised
4 eggs
300ml thickened cream
fresh thyme
¾ cup grated cheese (I used Gouda)
* 2 crumbled cubes of marinated goats cheese (optional)

1. Mix the eggs with the cream

2. Place onions, spinach, thyme, goats cheese if using over the rice base

3. Gently pour over the egg/cream mix

4. Top with grated cheese

5. Bake in the oven at 180C for 50-60mins or until golden brown and filling has set.

About Soul Kitchen Blog

Welcome to Soul Kitchen Blog. Sure food ultimately is fuel for the body but made with love is so much more and truly nourishes the soul. As cliche as it sounds, life really is too short to eat bad food and drink bad wine. I have a passion for cooking and a love of good food. I am committed to my quest of searching for fabulous recipes that just so happen to be gluten free. In recent years I discovered that I have intolerance to gluten and whilst its changed my eating habits somewhat, I refuse to allow it to limit my choices to eat well or make those that I cook for feel that they are missing out on anything. My mandate is simple... Feed the body and nourish the soul. I look forward to sharing my journey with you ....
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

