Guacamole and Prawns

I have an obsession with Guacamole that refuses to die.  Since I visited Mexico in 2004 my obsession really heated up, where I ate it at almost every meal.   For the main, most of the Guacamole I had there was simply mashed avocado with fresh lime & salt but the avocado were so full of flavour and more creamy than anything I’ve had in Australia.

My favourite variety here in Australia is the Fuerte – which has smooth green skin and the closest to those I ate in Central America.  It seems Aussies have taken a shine to the Hass variety, probably because (I speculate here) they turn black when they ripen and we can tell easily when they are read to eat. It is becoming increasingly difficult to find the Fuerte variety as most grocers tend to stock Hass due to supply/demand.

Luckily for me, we have a lovely large Fuerte avocado tree in our backyard, however it has hardly borne any fruit. This year, so far,  it looks like we may have a massive crop of 6 … last year we had 4.    See pic below from last year’s harvest.

From what I can investigate it takes a number of years for an avocado tree to mature, so I hope this means that next year will be the year !  Any tips out there dear readers on what I should do to help it along ?

Now, there are a million recipes on how to make Guacamole.  The mandatory ingredients are lime juice and salt.  Some other ingredients could also include a combination of any (or all) of the following;  purple onion, fresh chilli, Mexican chilli sauce or tabasco, fresh coriander and ripe tomato.

If I’m making it as a dip to serve with crackers or corn chips, I like to add the full list of the above as it packs a really good punch.   Sometimes I’ll just add tomatoes and coriander but most often if I can get a good avo, I’ll just make it with lime juice and salt.  No matter which way, I love it all.

I knocked up this recipe the other day as I found some delicious tiger prawns for a great price and I had a lovely ripe avocado just waiting to mashed.  Surely avocado and seafood are one of the world’s great food partnerships.

I used Diego’s Corn Tortilla’s which are very authentic and fried in rice bran oil (or vegetable oil) they turn into a crunchy tostado or fresh taco, just like you get in Mexico.

Guacamole & Prawns
INGREDIENTS

1 avocado, mashed with a fork
a good squeeze of lime juice
a sprinkle of sea salt
1/2 kg of peeled king prawns
3 gluten free corn tortillas (Diego brand from Coles)
1/2 punnet cherry tomatoes
fresh basil or coriander finely chopped

METHOD

1. Cut the tortilla into quarters and fry in hot oil until crispy

2. Mash the avocado and mix with lime juice and salt.  Place a scoop on tortillas.

3.  Scatter cherry tomatoes on guacamole and around the plate. Arrange peeled prawns on top and scatter with chopped herbs and serve.

Serves 2.

About Soul Kitchen Blog

Welcome to Soul Kitchen Blog. Sure food ultimately is fuel for the body but made with love is so much more and truly nourishes the soul. As cliche as it sounds, life really is too short to eat bad food and drink bad wine. I have a passion for cooking and a love of good food. I am committed to my quest of searching for fabulous recipes that just so happen to be gluten free. In recent years I discovered that I have intolerance to gluten and whilst its changed my eating habits somewhat, I refuse to allow it to limit my choices to eat well or make those that I cook for feel that they are missing out on anything. My mandate is simple... Feed the body and nourish the soul. I look forward to sharing my journey with you ....
This entry was posted in Fruit & Vegetables, Gluten Free Products, Recipes, Seafood and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Guacamole and Prawns

  1. Shu Han says:

    I love avocado too! Its creaminess makes for yummy dips. I often get the hass baby avocados too, just because it’s smaller and i don’t have to worry about finishing up a whole avocado if i just need a little of it, esp since it discolours so easily!

    http://mummyicancook.blogspot.com/2011/04/salmon-korokke-croquette-balls-with.html

Leave a Reply

