Salted Caramel Ice-Cream

Last year for Christmas, I received an ice-cream maker.  There were a couple of reasons for wanting one, including the fact that most commercial ice-cream contains gluten and lot of other artificial ingredients.  The real stuff of course, does not.  Its pretty much just eggs, cream, sugar and flavouring.

My partner E, questioned my request for another ‘appliance’ in the house, but I was quite adamant that a) I would use it quite often and b) it would therefore work out quite economical to make our own.    So far I’ve used it five times divided by the $80 dollar purchase price, and we are currently sitting at $16 per litre plus ingredients !!!  Ok, E you were right..but its summer again, so I’m sure we’ll get a few more litres out of the thing this year.

Now let me say up front, now that I know what goes into ice-cream its a little frightening to think of the calories involved in an innocent little scoop of this stuff, which is probably another reason to limit the amount I make.

So far, I’ve made date & kahlua ice-cream which was great except the dates went a little furry on the tongue.  I made a heavenly vanilla twice and this salted caramel twice.  Ice-cream is a bit of a palava to make, but the results are soooooooooo worth it.  Ben and Jerry’s have got nothin’ on the real stuff !

This ‘salted caramel’ ice-cream, quite simply, is to die for.

Due to the high sugar content, the ice-cream doesn’t set hard, and it so unctuous and rich you don’t need more than one scoop.  Although, the problem here is need versus want.  It’s really hard to stop at one scoop as it so divine, you will want more.    In fact, I know that it is completely bad manners and totally uncouth to suggest, but I dare you not to want to lick the bowl when you are finished.

Click here for the recipe, which is quite detailed and steps out the process.  Just make sure you watch your caramel carefully so it doesn’t burn, I found that mine coloured much quicker than the time mentioned in the recipe.

Enjoy !

About Soul Kitchen Blog

Welcome to Soul Kitchen Blog. Sure food ultimately is fuel for the body but made with love is so much more and truly nourishes the soul. As cliche as it sounds, life really is too short to eat bad food and drink bad wine. I have a passion for cooking and a love of good food. I am committed to my quest of searching for fabulous recipes that just so happen to be gluten free. In recent years I discovered that I have intolerance to gluten and whilst its changed my eating habits somewhat, I refuse to allow it to limit my choices to eat well or make those that I cook for feel that they are missing out on anything. My mandate is simple... Feed the body and nourish the soul. I look forward to sharing my journey with you ....
This entry was posted in Cakes & Sweet Things, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Salted Caramel Ice-Cream

  1. Pingback: My Sweet Life in Paris | Soul Kitchen Blog

Leave a Reply

