Gluten Free Breadcrumbs

Ah breadcrumbs … I miss you so.  Following a gluten free diet presents a few challenges sometimes when converting normal recipes to be GF.   The pre-packaged ones I’ve tried including rice crumbs by Orgran have been rather dismal. Here’s a few successful things I’ve found in place of breadcrumbs.

For all kinds of stuffings, including baked artichokes, chicken or Christmas turkey, try using cooked quinoa in place of the breadcrumbs.  The added bonus here is that you receive the nutritional benefits from the quinoa, which is a whole lot better for you than bread !

Instead of using breadcrumbs in meatballs, I’ve used grated potato which is traditional in Greek Keftedes, check out my recipe here.

For crumbing, I’ve found few good alternatives:

1. Crushed GF Corn Flakes.  I like the Norganic brand, easily found in supermarkets.  Besides being a breakfast cereal much nicer than the Kelloggs variety, they make really tasty crumbs.

Great with fish or chicken, dust with cornflour or GF flour, dip in egg wash (beaten egg with  a dash of milk) and then coat in the crumbs and fry.   Kids will love these crumbs, and if make using flathead fillets are just like homemade fishfingers!

2. I’ve made excellent chicken schnitzel using the crusty gluten free loaf, that I’ve blogged about recently. Just whizz in a food processor and then crumb as above with GF flour, egg wash method.

3. I’ve also discovered Diego’s Crumb N Stuffing Mix.  Check out their website for stockists.  The crumbs are made from stone ground white corn.  They have two varieties, Chilli and Cumin, or Sage and Mix Herbs.  I haven’t tried these yet as a stuffing, but have made great crumbed cutlets and chicken schnitzel.   Here’s a couple of pics.

I bought these at a recent Gluten Free Show and notice that they crumbs aren’t appearing on their website yet. They mentioned they were a new product and that Coles were going to be stocking them.

I would happily eat any of the above without any feelings of missing out on the real thing as the results have been very successful.

Would love to hear from you if you have found any other worthy GF substitutes for wheat based breadcrumbs.

About Soul Kitchen Blog

Welcome to Soul Kitchen Blog. Sure food ultimately is fuel for the body but made with love is so much more and truly nourishes the soul. As cliche as it sounds, life really is too short to eat bad food and drink bad wine. I have a passion for cooking and a love of good food. I am committed to my quest of searching for fabulous recipes that just so happen to be gluten free. In recent years I discovered that I have intolerance to gluten and whilst its changed my eating habits somewhat, I refuse to allow it to limit my choices to eat well or make those that I cook for feel that they are missing out on anything. My mandate is simple... Feed the body and nourish the soul. I look forward to sharing my journey with you ....
This entry was posted in Gluten Free Products and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

