Tabbouleh, my way

Tabbouleh with Quinoa

I love Lebanese food.

Its healthy, delicious and flavoursome however some of my favourite dishes contain gluten, so I have made my own adaptations to a few of the traditional dishes.  Whilst these adaptations may upset a purest Lebanese cook, its important to note that they still taste very good so hopefully they would still get a thumbs up.

Unfortunately, there is no substitute for pita bread, corn tortillas are probably the closest option that I have found.

So, how to make Tabbouleh my way… Burghul is out of bounds as it is derived from wheat and is therefore not gluten free.

There are two options here, both delicious.  One option is to use walnuts (or pistachios) and the other uses Quinoa.

Tabbouleh with Walnuts

I’ve also made it here with both versions using less parsley and more quinoa/walnuts so its got a more dense texture than traditional recipes, which has a higher ratio of nearly all parsley. You can use any traditional recipe if you prefer, just make sure you substitute the bulghur for either chopped walnuts or cooked Quinoa.

It’s also better if you roast the walnuts in the oven until slightly toasted before chopping.

Tabbouleh (GF)

1-2 cups finely chopped parsley
1 tblspn finely chopped mint
1 green spring onion (shallot) chopped finely
1 cup of cherry tomatoes (or more traditionally use chopped tomato flesh, 1/4 cup)
½ to 1 cup of cooked quinoa OR finely chopped roasted walnuts
drizzle of extra virgin olive oil
lemon juice to taste
sprinkle of sea salt to taste

Mix ingredients through and season to taste. Add lemon juice and salt to taste.  It should be lemony and have a bit of zing!

Footnote:  How to cook Quinoa
1 cup quinoa
2 cups of water
Bring water to the boil, cover and cook gently on low for 10mins (or until water evaporates).   Turn off hotplate and leave to steam with the lid on for about another 5-10mins. Fluff with a fork.  Its just like cooking rice!

About Soul Kitchen Blog

Welcome to Soul Kitchen Blog. Sure food ultimately is fuel for the body but made with love is so much more and truly nourishes the soul. As cliche as it sounds, life really is too short to eat bad food and drink bad wine. I have a passion for cooking and a love of good food. I am committed to my quest of searching for fabulous recipes that just so happen to be gluten free. In recent years I discovered that I have intolerance to gluten and whilst its changed my eating habits somewhat, I refuse to allow it to limit my choices to eat well or make those that I cook for feel that they are missing out on anything. My mandate is simple... Feed the body and nourish the soul. I look forward to sharing my journey with you ....
This entry was posted in Recipes, Salad and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tabbouleh, my way

  1. Hayley says:

    Just tried the Tabbouleh. Literally took ten minutes, using fresh mint and parsley from the garden. Didn’t have lemons, but used lime instead. Tasted delicious!

    • Hi there Hayley, thanks for letting me know ! Can’t beat the herbs fresh straight from the garden. My mint and parsley are going ballastic in all this rainy weather, but the basil is suffering a little. Cheers,

Leave a Reply

