Chicken & Corn

This is a hands down family favourite meal.  Everytime I make it for someone they ask for the recipe.  Such simple flavours that marry together so well.

The origins of this recipe started out from an article I read with famous chefs talking about their favourite dish and Nigella Lawson mentioned Chicken & Corn from Sean’s Panorama in Sydney.

I then discovered that the original recipe is published in the Sean’s Panorama cookbook (Let it Simmer) but I never been to eat the real thing from the restaurant. I’ve adapted the recipe somewhat, so I’m not sure what the restaurant dish is like, all I know is my home cooked version is an absolute hit with anyone I’ve made it for.

The original recipe called for a whole chicken, I used free range chicken breast supreme’s which have the skin on and wing drumstick still attached.  These can be hard to find, but a good chicken shop or butcher usually stocks them.   You must have the skin-on so that you have somewhere to stuff the herb butter !

You can freeze portions of the corn so I usually make more than I need so that I can freeze some of it.  The chicken also freezes well, once you have prepared the butter and topped the skin with maple syrup (freeze uncooked).  When ready to cook, simply pop from the freeze straight into the oven covered for 30mins and then remove and bake a further 20-30mins so the skin browns up nicely.

There is two parts to the dish – cook the corn first and set aside before you prepare the chicken.   Reheat the corn gently just before serving.

CORN INGREDIENTS

3/4 tsp ground cumin
1½ large onions chopped
2 cloves garlic
6 cobs fresh corn
50ml olive oil
3 sprigs fresh rosemary, roughly chopped
150ml dry white wine or verjuice
250ml chicken stock OR water and a stock cube
1 tsp sea salt (or more to taste)

1. Cook onion in oil until slightly caramelised, then add corn kernals you have removed from the cob by running a knife as close as you can down the sides

2. Add chopped garlic, rosemary.and saute for several minutes until corn starts to caramelise slightly.

3. Deglaze pan with all the liquids and cook on low for 20-30mins until liquid almost evaporated.  Stirring occasionally.

4. Remove from heat.  blend half of the corn mixture with a bamix, ensure you blend it well. For an even finer sauce you can then pass it through a sieve to remove the corn kernal skin.  You will need to use a spoon or spatula to force the flesh through the sieve.

5. Return the whole corn kernels to the blended corn.

6. Season well to taste.  Reheat gently before serving with the chicken.

Serves 4.

CHICKEN INGREDIENTS

4 chicken supremes
80g unsalted butter
2 cloves garlic
sprinkle of sea salt
1-2 tlbspn chopped tarragon (basil is also good)

METHOD

1. Chop the garlic finely and then crush it with the sea salt using the back of a knife

2. Mix the garlic and chopped tarragon through the butter so that all the ingredients are mixed through evenly.  I like to use the flat part of the knife and squash and soften the butter as I go.

3. Divide the mixture into four and using your hands separate the skin at the edge of the chicken breast so that you can stuff the herb butter inside.

4. Spread the butter as over the breast without tearing the skin.  Seal the edge with a toothpick.

5. Spread any remaining butter using your hands around the outside of the skin.

6. Using your hands, spread 1 tsp of maple syrup (per breast) to evenly to coat the skin

5. Bake chicken at 200C until cooked and nicely browned. Time can vary, about 30mins if fresh, about an hour if frozen.  You want the skin to be really crispy looking. (The butter helps it to stop drying out and most of it escapes into the tray, so don’t worry its not a butter fest !!)

6. Place a bed of corn on the each plate and top with a chicken breast.  Serve with baked potatoes.

Serves 4.

About Soul Kitchen Blog

Welcome to Soul Kitchen Blog. Sure food ultimately is fuel for the body but made with love is so much more and truly nourishes the soul. As cliche as it sounds, life really is too short to eat bad food and drink bad wine. I have a passion for cooking and a love of good food. I am committed to my quest of searching for fabulous recipes that just so happen to be gluten free. In recent years I discovered that I have intolerance to gluten and whilst its changed my eating habits somewhat, I refuse to allow it to limit my choices to eat well or make those that I cook for feel that they are missing out on anything. My mandate is simple... Feed the body and nourish the soul. I look forward to sharing my journey with you ....
This entry was posted in Meat, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Chicken & Corn

  1. ange says:

    yummo, this sounds delicious.. I am starting my search for breast supremes (!) this w/e.

    Plus the freeze option sounds a perfect solution to those “getting home late with no food inspiration” moments.

    You are an absolute culinary champion .. thanks again.

    • Thanks Ange :-)) Good luck with the supreme search !!! FYI – AC Butchery at Leichhardt is one place that have them ! But haven’t found any on the south side of Sydney unfortunately..so that was another reason I’ve taken to freezing them. I buy in extra when I find them ! Cheers,

  2. Pingback: In My Kitchen – July 2012 | Soul Kitchen Blog

Leave a Reply

