Favourite ways with Fennel

Fennel is perfect right now.  Here’s a few simple ideas of what to do with it.

One of the absolute best ways to eat fennel is caramelised or baked.  This recipe was on the cooking show The Best (UK version) from the fabulously famous Aussie Chef, Ben O’Donoghue.   I could never find this recipe online unfortunately, so had to go on my memory and a few hastily written notes on scrap paper.  It’s a cracker way to eat fennel, really moorish, perfect for a light lunch, a side dish, mezze or tapas dish.

Another of my favourite ways, is to simply shave the fennel with a mandolin and drizzle with olive oil, a little lemon juice (or wine vinegar), season with sea salt, a few teaspoons of capers and sprinkling of finely chopped fresh dill, basil or coriander.

Taking this idea one step further, here’s an Italian classic…..

Fennel and Orange Salad

INGREDIENTS

1 bulb of fennel
1 orange
1 scoop of Kalamata olives
extra virgin olive oil
wine vinegar or lemon juice
soft goats cheese *(I use Meredith Dairy brand)
fresh dill (or fennel fronds)
sea salt

METHOD

1. Shave the fennel as thinly as possible using a mandolin.

2. Sprinkle with sea salt, olive oil and vinegar and about 1/2 tblspn of fennel fronds or dill and mix through to coat the fennel evenly.

3. Remove the skin from the orange, slice thinly and cut the slices in half.

4. Arrange the orange slices over the fennel.

5. Top with olives and goats cheese.

Caramelised Fennel

INGREDIENTS

2 fennel bulbs
1 clove garlic, chopped finely
Rind of ½ lemon
Juice of ½ lemon
1 tblpsn olive oil
Chopped dill or fennel fronds

METHOD

1. Cut fennel into chunks and fry in olive oil in a saucepan until starting to caramelise.

2. Put in a bit of water and cook until water gone.  Add a little more water & continue cooking for a while (maybe 10-20mins) adding splash of water as needed

3. Once soft, add a sprinkle of sea salt & the garlic, a tablespoon fennel fronds or dill and grated lemon rind.  Cook for a few more minutes.

4. Sprinkle with a little lemon juice, drizzle of olive oil and more fennel fronds as garnish.

5. Serve slightly warm or at room temperature.

About Soul Kitchen Blog

Welcome to Soul Kitchen Blog. Sure food ultimately is fuel for the body but made with love is so much more and truly nourishes the soul. As cliche as it sounds, life really is too short to eat bad food and drink bad wine. I have a passion for cooking and a love of good food. I am committed to my quest of searching for fabulous recipes that just so happen to be gluten free. In recent years I discovered that I have intolerance to gluten and whilst its changed my eating habits somewhat, I refuse to allow it to limit my choices to eat well or make those that I cook for feel that they are missing out on anything. My mandate is simple... Feed the body and nourish the soul. I look forward to sharing my journey with you ....
This entry was posted in Fruit & Vegetables, Italian, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Favourite ways with Fennel

  1. Hayley says:

    We often get Fennel as part of the organic co-op, and I never know what to do with it. Will definitely be trying these ones, they look delicious.

  2. bet365 says:

    how are you I was luck to come cross your subject in wordpress
    your topic is outstanding
    I obtain much in your Topics really thank your very much
    btw the theme of you website is really outstanding
    where can find it

  3. Ute says:

    your recipe is very close to the original. I bought the recipe book to the TV series “The Best” just because of this recipe 🙂 I had also been searching for it online thinking it was called “caramelised fennel”. In the book it is actually called “steamed Florence fennel”. If you like I can give you the recipe from the book.

Leave a Reply

