Dead Easy Cannellini Bean & Tuna Salad

Take 1 x cannelini beans and 1 x can tuna and you have a tasty and nutritious meal in 5 mins flat.

This is so simple, I contemplated if I should blog it or not, but it tastes so good I figured everyone is always looking for something quick and easy you can whip up at a moments notice from staples you can keep in your pantry.

Make sure you throughly rinse the beans in water and drain well before using.  Drain the tuna also.

Oh and for the record, I like Sirena brand tuna in olive oil best and the Bio Organic brand of Cannelini beans.  Both brands easily found in any local supermarket.

Firstly, make the base of the salad…..

BASE
400g can Cannellini beans
230g can tuna
2-3 tblspn of fresh herbs chopped (mint, parsley, dill, basil or a combination)
1 tblspn extra virgin olive oil
juice of ½ lemon
Add in any (or all) of the following….(basically whatever you have on hand)
1 tblspn good quality mayonnaise
1 celery stalk, finely chopped
½ capsicum (red or green, or combination), finely chopped
¼-½ red onion, finely sliced
4 cherry tomatoes, cut into quarters
1 red chilli, seeded and finely chopped
1 tblspn baby capers, (rinsed of salt)

For a Middle Eastern twist – to the tuna and bean base, mix through the following:
1 heaped tblspn tahini
¼ green capsicum
2-3 tblspn parsley
8 cherry tomatoes, quartered
½ tblspn good quality mayonnaise
preserved lemon quarter, finely chopped
½ tsp sumac

Serves 2

 

About Soul Kitchen Blog

Welcome to Soul Kitchen Blog. Sure food ultimately is fuel for the body but made with love is so much more and truly nourishes the soul. As cliche as it sounds, life really is too short to eat bad food and drink bad wine. I have a passion for cooking and a love of good food. I am committed to my quest of searching for fabulous recipes that just so happen to be gluten free. In recent years I discovered that I have intolerance to gluten and whilst its changed my eating habits somewhat, I refuse to allow it to limit my choices to eat well or make those that I cook for feel that they are missing out on anything. My mandate is simple... Feed the body and nourish the soul. I look forward to sharing my journey with you ....
This entry was posted in Recipes, Salad and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

