Greenbelt, Manila, Philippines

I’ve just come back from a trip to the Philippines and the best meal I had during the whole trip was Thai !   Located in the Greenbelt complex in Makati, People’s Palace had a wonderful ambiance as you sit outside in the garden area of one of the best malls in Manila.  With all the choice of restaurants available it was probably a little tragic that we ate at People’s Palace both nights we were in Manila. But as they say – when you are onto a good thing….

Three of the dishes we tried at People’s Palace really stood out.

Firstly, the fabulous Lapu Lapu Red Curry, was one of the best Thai curries I’ve ever had any where in the world.   The fish was slightly battered and deep fried, with a red curry sauce drizzled over the top instead of soaking in it.  The fish was served on a bed of thinly julienned cabbage.  What sounds like a strange combination, was actually fantastic with the spicy curry sauce.  Who woulda thought ???!

We loved the Prawn and Pomelo Salad with Coconut.  I wrote down all the ingredients I could taste and see, and I’m sure I can replicate this at home. Stay tuned.

The other dish we fell in love with was Chicken in Pandan Leaves.   This is something that we really NEED to eat again, so I’ll be searching the net to find out where in Sydney we can have it [or how to make it],  and when I do, I’ll be post a blog about it.   I know it was fairly simple flavours but more often than not, simple creates the best outcome.
{sorry picture is blurred}

Greenbelt predominately is restaurant heaven, with all manner of cusines, from coffee chains to high end gourmet.  There is Filipino, Greek, Italian, Spanish fare to name a few.  Its here that the luxury fashion labels also reside and you can shop until you drop or burn hole in your credit card, which ever comes first !

 

My other favourite place in Greenbelt was Museum Cafe. Here I indulged in regular iced cappuccino’s.  They had some fabulous looking desserts and the many varities of iced tea available also looked amazing.  Sitting here in this cafe watching the world go by was very pleasant.  Lovely staff and free wifi.  Highly recommended.

About Soul Kitchen Blog

Welcome to Soul Kitchen Blog. Sure food ultimately is fuel for the body but made with love is so much more and truly nourishes the soul. As cliche as it sounds, life really is too short to eat bad food and drink bad wine. I have a passion for cooking and a love of good food. I am committed to my quest of searching for fabulous recipes that just so happen to be gluten free. In recent years I discovered that I have intolerance to gluten and whilst its changed my eating habits somewhat, I refuse to allow it to limit my choices to eat well or make those that I cook for feel that they are missing out on anything. My mandate is simple... Feed the body and nourish the soul. I look forward to sharing my journey with you ....
This entry was posted in Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Greenbelt, Manila, Philippines

  1. ange says:

    great review.. the prawn red curry & pomelo / prawn salad sound delicious; can’t wait for that blog !

    • Hi Ange, yes, recipe coming up. I made it last week and it turned out really well. I couldn’t get red fleshed pomelo though, the ones here in Australia might only come in yellow flesh variety.

  2. Michelle says:

    Made it Museum Cafe this week and you are right – the Iced Cappuccino was AMAZING! Thanks for the tip. Cyma was lovely too. Next week I’ll hit People’s Palace.

  3. Michelle says:

    Had lunch at People’s Palace – amazing food! Thanks for the recommendations. I look forward trying to recreate their magic with your recipes when I get home.

Leave a Reply

