Balinese Roast Duck

I have never cooked a duck before!  My favourite dish to order on a restaurant menu, I have always been put off cooking at home, feeling that it requires some magical cooking skills.

Although, techinically its cheating, I’ve been a converted fan for a long while to the ‘Luv-a-Duck’ pre cooked duck confit that comes vacuum packed in the selected supermarkets. The ‘confit’ has a long shelf life, so great to keep tucked in the fridge.  For a quick meal after work, you can’t beat it –  pop onto a tray and in 15mins, you have a restaurant quality crispy moist duck confit on your plate.  They also have honey variety and peking duck, but as this isn’t gluten free, I stick to the confit.

Following a quick trip to Bali last year, I didn’t get time to try the legendary dish of roast duck,  so thought I’d give Rick Stein’s recipe a try from his Far Eastern Odyssey.  Surely with the saturation of Thai and Vietnamese restuarants, it is time a greater interest in Indonesian food.  Its little known and talked about, and even to those visitors to Bali – it seems most tend to eat Western Food when they are there (except for the safe and familar Nasi Goreng and Satay sticks).

The spice paste for the duck required quite a lot of ingredients, including candlenuts which I found easily in my local asian supermarket.   The recipe for the spice paste is included in this recipe from Rick Stein online for Nasi Goreng, which incidently is also from his Far Eastern Odyssey cookbook AND on my hit list to try !

After smearing the paste all over the chicken I popped into an oven bag with a little water and cooked on really low heat ((150C) on a rack for a couple of hours. I removed the duck from the bag and placed back into the oven and turned up the heat to crisp up the skin.  I was a little worried that the oven bag was going to burst during cooking, I think next time I might just wrap in baking paper or banana leaves and cover with foil.

The result –  success.  The big revelation… cooking duck ain’t hard !  I’m really glad to have broken my fear of cooking this delicous bird and am inspired to try again soon using a different type of cuisine next time…….maybe French inspired…or Kylie Kwong’s famous Chinese recipe with using blood oranges.

About Soul Kitchen Blog

Welcome to Soul Kitchen Blog. Sure food ultimately is fuel for the body but made with love is so much more and truly nourishes the soul. As cliche as it sounds, life really is too short to eat bad food and drink bad wine. I have a passion for cooking and a love of good food. I am committed to my quest of searching for fabulous recipes that just so happen to be gluten free. In recent years I discovered that I have intolerance to gluten and whilst its changed my eating habits somewhat, I refuse to allow it to limit my choices to eat well or make those that I cook for feel that they are missing out on anything. My mandate is simple... Feed the body and nourish the soul. I look forward to sharing my journey with you ....
This entry was posted in Recipes, Spicy and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Balinese Roast Duck

  1. Good article, well presented

Leave a Reply

