Swedish Potato Bake

I love a good potato bake.  This one, also known as Janssen’s Temptation, is potato gratin with a Scandinavian slant.  It differs in the way the potatoes are cut… julienned, not sliced.  It includes milk and cream and caramelised onions. And before you turn off when I explain how to make this, you will just have to trust me when I tell you that it really is delicious, even with the magic ingredient.

What makes this dish so different from the usual potato gratin is that it includes marinated anchovies !!!!   You’ll never know they are there, promise, but without them it misses a bit of zing.

Great with a BBQ or a roast.  Here’s how to make.

INGREDIENTS

2 tblsp extra virgin olive oil
2 large brown onions finely sliced
4 medium desiree potatos, peeled and sliced using a mandolin (and julienned)
1/2 packet of marinated anchovies
¼ tsp white pepper
3/4 cup cream
3/4 cup milk
about 2 tblspn breadcrumbs (Gluten Free) or parmesan if you prefer

METHOD

Cook the onions with the olive oil, until the onions are soften and starting to caramelise.

Mix the onions with the potatoes in a bowl and add, pepper cream and anchovies and sea salt.

Oil a baking dish and top with breadcrumbs or parmesan (or both)

Bake for around 1 hour until the potatoes are cooked and the top is golden.

Serves 4-6.

Freezes well uncooked.

About Soul Kitchen Blog

Welcome to Soul Kitchen Blog. Sure food ultimately is fuel for the body but made with love is so much more and truly nourishes the soul. As cliche as it sounds, life really is too short to eat bad food and drink bad wine. I have a passion for cooking and a love of good food. I am committed to my quest of searching for fabulous recipes that just so happen to be gluten free. In recent years I discovered that I have intolerance to gluten and whilst its changed my eating habits somewhat, I refuse to allow it to limit my choices to eat well or make those that I cook for feel that they are missing out on anything. My mandate is simple... Feed the body and nourish the soul. I look forward to sharing my journey with you ....
This entry was posted in Fruit & Vegetables, Recipes, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Swedish Potato Bake

  1. ange says:

    yum – this sounds delicious and easy .. can’t wait give it a go ! I love those marinated anchovies.. so another great way to incorporate them, rather than just inhaling them with pane di casa !

    ange

    • yes, I love them too. sometimes I just eat from a fork straight from the container. oops, did I just admit that ?
      E isn’t a fan of anchovies of any kind, but hasn’t ever picked up that they are in there. Although the game is up now that I’ve revealed it in this post !

Leave a Reply

