Buckwheat Polenta


Polenta Taragna is a traditional polenta dish from the Lombardy region in Italy. I came across Polenta Taragna one night dining at a Moncur Terrace in the Woollahra Hotel.  They described it as Buckwheat Gnocchi.  It was light and delicious and went so well with the roasted Barossa chicken dish it was served with.

I did a bit of research and came up with this recipe. It’s not a 100% recreation to what I ate that night, but it still tasted pretty good.

Buckwheat besides being gluten free, is nutritious and the inclusion of it provided a nice twist on normal polenta.  Next time I’ll up the buckwheat ratio to 50/50 and see how that goes (I’ll keep you posted on that experiment if successful)

INGREDIENTS

1 cup polenta
1/2 cup buckwheat flour
4 cups water (or chicken stock)
100g butter
1/4 cup grated parmesan

METHOD

Heat oven to 180C.   Butter an ovenproof dish and set aside.  Mix together the buckwheat and polenta into a bowl.

In a medium saucepan, heat 4 cups of water (or chicken stock if you prefer) to a boil.  Whisk in slowly the combined buckwheat and polenta stirring madly.

Swap to a wooden spoon, continue to stir constantly until mixture bubbles like boiling mud and starts to pull away from the saucepan (about 10mins).

Add in the butter and the grated cheese.  Stir through and pour into a baking dish.

Bake for about 10 mins and serve immediately.  Serves 4.

It was lovely with Osso Bucco !

About Soul Kitchen Blog

Welcome to Soul Kitchen Blog. Sure food ultimately is fuel for the body but made with love is so much more and truly nourishes the soul. As cliche as it sounds, life really is too short to eat bad food and drink bad wine. I have a passion for cooking and a love of good food. I am committed to my quest of searching for fabulous recipes that just so happen to be gluten free. In recent years I discovered that I have intolerance to gluten and whilst its changed my eating habits somewhat, I refuse to allow it to limit my choices to eat well or make those that I cook for feel that they are missing out on anything. My mandate is simple... Feed the body and nourish the soul. I look forward to sharing my journey with you ....
This entry was posted in Italian, Recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

