Beef Bourguignon

Cold weather calls for hearty food and one of our favourite meals is Beef Bourguignon aka Beef in Red Wine.  There are millions of recipes out there for this dish.  Just about any cookbook you pick up probably has a version, but I’ve found that this recipe is the definitive.  I found this watching SBS Food Safari and cooked by one of Sydney’s finest French Chefs, I figured it would be the real deal. 

What is different about this recipe is that it is thickened with carrot puree instead of the usual flour. This creates a wonderfully thick, tasty and healthier version, with a great dose of beta carotene from all that carrot! 

I haven’t adapted this recipe at all, and have cooked it pretty much exactly as it is although I used chuck steak, not the Waygu variety that Guillaume Brahimi mentions and sometimes add in a few more shallots and/or mushrooms.  I also tend to cook it longer than suggested so that the beef is more tender.

This recipe freezes really well, so I always have some in the freezer ready to have at a moment’s notice. 

We like to eat this with baked thinly sliced potatoes (potato gallette).   Slice the potatoes with a mandoline, fan the slices out evenly over a baking tray lined with baking paper.  Drizzle potatoes with a little olive oil and sprinkle of salt. Scatter over some fresh rosemary too if you have some on hand. Bake at 180c about 30-40mins until crispy on the edges.  

Potato mash or polenta is also good with the beef, but we prefer the crispyness of the baked potato than the softness of the mash.

Click here for the recipe 

You can also watch the video and see Guillaume in action cooking this dish.

About Soul Kitchen Blog

Welcome to Soul Kitchen Blog. Sure food ultimately is fuel for the body but made with love is so much more and truly nourishes the soul. As cliche as it sounds, life really is too short to eat bad food and drink bad wine. I have a passion for cooking and a love of good food. I am committed to my quest of searching for fabulous recipes that just so happen to be gluten free. In recent years I discovered that I have intolerance to gluten and whilst its changed my eating habits somewhat, I refuse to allow it to limit my choices to eat well or make those that I cook for feel that they are missing out on anything. My mandate is simple... Feed the body and nourish the soul. I look forward to sharing my journey with you ....
This entry was posted in Meat, Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Beef Bourguignon

  1. Pingback: Coq au Vin | Soul Kitchen Blog

Leave a Reply

