Restaurant ‘X’

I really want to blog about this place, but my partner E, has made me promise to keep the name secret. Why? because its a newish place, we don’t want everyone to know about it, so we can still get a table whenever we want (this assumes that hundreds of people read my blog .. yeah right !).  

I know you might be thinking that the purpose of a blog is to share. Are we being selfish !? ….you bet, with food this good !

Anyway, as the saying goes, the first rule about Fight Club is not to talk about Fight Club.  I promised not to tell the name, but I can tell you about the food. 

We were walking through the CBD of Sydney a few months back, trying to decide where to eat and not coming to any agreeance on what we felt like.  To top it off, when we did decide we liked the look of somewhere, it was full. 

So we kept walking and well, my blood sugar level started to drop as I was so hungry, which then means that I can’t make a decision to save myself !  Luckily E took control, as the foodie in me just couldn’t work out where would be the ‘best’ place ot eat and it was getting ridiculous as we walked past restaurant after restaurant.  Annoyingly, although starvation had arrived, I still had to maintain my standard for eating good food! 

E made the executive decision and said ‘lets go in here’. Walking into venue X, we thought, this will just have to do.  It looked kind of new, never heard of it, but by this time, we were so hungry we didn’t care if they served hamburgers, I had resigned myself to the fact that my gluten intolerance would have to take a backseat!   

There was no hamburgers, the menu was split in two sections, Thai and Japanese.  We ordered a couple of dishes from each… and oh my gosh!!!  What a revelation!  Value for money and quality of food, this place was the find of the year !  

We’ve been back so many times and every time the food has been outstanding. Very authentic. Here’s a few things from our last visit; 

Seared Trout Sushi ($15), a taste sensation,

Cucumber Roll with Tempura Prawn ($14), great combo of flavours,

 Soft Shell Crab Roll ($14), delicious

and possibly the best Pad Thai ($12) I’ve had outside of Thailand (… realise this is a big call, but without doubt I can say with out reservation that they serve the best sushi rolls I’ve EVER eaten).

So, you ask, where is this culinary nirvana  ??? All that I am allowed to tell you, is that it is on Goulburn Street, Sydney.

About Soul Kitchen Blog

Welcome to Soul Kitchen Blog. Sure food ultimately is fuel for the body but made with love is so much more and truly nourishes the soul. As cliche as it sounds, life really is too short to eat bad food and drink bad wine. I have a passion for cooking and a love of good food. I am committed to my quest of searching for fabulous recipes that just so happen to be gluten free. In recent years I discovered that I have intolerance to gluten and whilst its changed my eating habits somewhat, I refuse to allow it to limit my choices to eat well or make those that I cook for feel that they are missing out on anything. My mandate is simple... Feed the body and nourish the soul. I look forward to sharing my journey with you ....
This entry was posted in Dining Out. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

