Best Ever Gluten Free Museli

I love a good museli and this one really ticks the boxes.  You could add some oats in for those that don’t have an intolerance to gluten.  But even just as it is, I think the recipe rocks, whether it is GF or not !   It is substantial, and is a good blend of texture and taste.

In my search for the perfect museli, I’ve tried lots of the gourmet GF brands and I find the better they taste, the more expensive they are!  Up to $15 for a small packet …. ouch !  In terms of the supermarket brands, Carman’s Premium Museli available in major supermarkets is pretty good for the price, however its a little too strong on cinnamon for my liking. 

Anyway, price aside, once you’ve made my museli, I promise you that you’ll think it so delicious that you’ll want to make your own all the time.  It does cost a bit for the ingredients, but you’ll  be able to make more that one batch out of your investment.   I love the addition of the luscious taste of the prunes, but you can experiment with dried peaches, pears or apricots.  Dried apples would also be great.

I’ve used a great mix of puffed grains by good morning cereals that I found at About Life in Rozelle.  Here’s a pic.  These GF Multi Puffs contain organic hulled Buckwheat, Sorghum and Brown Rice.  But to be completely honest, I can’t tell that much difference between the three grains once they are puffed, so just used what ever ‘puffs’ you can find, just so long as they don’t contain any gluten.

 

INGREDIENTS

60g of puffed GF grains
1 cup sunflower seeds
1 cup pepitas
2 cups rice brand flakes
1/4 cup linseed (flaxseed) optional
1 cup raw almonds
2 cups of coconut flakes (chips)
1 tblspn maple syrup
125g pitted prunes

METHOD

1. Preheat oven to 170C. 

2. Place puffed grains on a baking tray lined with baking powder.  Toss the maple syrup through the puffs and coat thoroughly with the syrup.  Spread out on the tray and put into the oven for about 10mins, stirring occasionally, until the puffs are slightly toasted.  Allow to cool.

3. At the same time, on another oven tray, spread out the coconut chips separately at one end of the tray and the almonds on the other end and roast for about 10mins, stirring occasionally, until slightly toasted. Allow to cool.

4. Mix together all ingredients except prunes. 

5. Cut the prunes into small pieces (its easier to do using kitchen scissors than a knife).  Add the prunes in with the museli and mix through well.

Makes 20 serves.

About Soul Kitchen Blog

Welcome to Soul Kitchen Blog. Sure food ultimately is fuel for the body but made with love is so much more and truly nourishes the soul. As cliche as it sounds, life really is too short to eat bad food and drink bad wine. I have a passion for cooking and a love of good food. I am committed to my quest of searching for fabulous recipes that just so happen to be gluten free. In recent years I discovered that I have intolerance to gluten and whilst its changed my eating habits somewhat, I refuse to allow it to limit my choices to eat well or make those that I cook for feel that they are missing out on anything. My mandate is simple... Feed the body and nourish the soul. I look forward to sharing my journey with you ....
This entry was posted in Breakfast, Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

