Socca (chickpea pancake)

Its funny how you can go through life unaware of something and then all of a sudden hear about it often. This is what happened to me recently with Socca.  Socca is kind of like a crispy pancake made with chickpea flour and originates in the south of France around Nice.

I first read about Socca from David Lebovitz in “My Sweet Life in Paris” and then again recently when I got hold of Yotam Ottolenghi’s vegetarian tome called Plenty and twice since in press articles (one of them written by Matt Preston).

I decided I’d give Ottolenghi’s version a go first, as it looked quite delicious with its topping of caramelised onions and roasted tomatoes.  Chickpea flour is readily available and also know as gram or besan flour.

I found I had quite a bit of the batter leftover so popped it in the fridge and the next day, sprinkled in some cumin and la Lebovitz version, baked it in a very hot oven in a baking tray and had it for breakfast with eggs.

……..Now if I can just get myself to France to try the real version I can let you know how authentic these versions are.

Here is the recipe for Yotam Ottolenghi’s recipe which I followed to the letter.

Here is recipe for David Lebovitz’s version

Here are my pic :-)

About Soul Kitchen Blog

Welcome to Soul Kitchen Blog. Sure food ultimately is fuel for the body but made with love is so much more and truly nourishes the soul. As cliche as it sounds, life really is too short to eat bad food and drink bad wine. I have a passion for cooking and a love of good food. I am commtted to my quest of searching for fabulous recipes that just so happen to be gluten free. In recent years I discovered that I have intolerance to gluten and whilst its changed my eating habits somewhat, I refuse to allow it to limit my choices to eat well or make those that I cook for feel that they are missing out on anything. My mandate is simple... Feed the body and nourish the soul. I look forward to sharing my journey with you ........
This entry was posted in Recipes, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Socca (chickpea pancake)

  1. I had my first experience of gram flour yesterday, it is SO delicious. Quite hard to find in Mid west Wales, but worth it! I made parathas and bahjis. These socca look lovely!

    • The socca taste really good too ! I’ve been using the chickpea flour for a while to make a batter to coat cauliflower and fry them pakora style. DELICIOUS ! I haven’t seen a recipe for parathas using gram flour, are they gluten free or did they also contain plain flour ?

Leave a Reply

